Home Formula 3GB3 Will Palmer wins first Snetterton race

Will Palmer wins first Snetterton race

by Peter Allen
Will Palmer

Photo: BRDC F4

Will Palmer claimed victory in the first BRDC F4 race of the weekend at Snetterton.

After missing out on pole by just 0.004 seconds in the earlier qualifying session, Palmer took the fight to championship leader George Russell on the opening lap, but as they squabbled, Raoul Hyman capitalised to move into first place.

Palmer however moved ahead on lap three, working his way past Russell and then Hyman. In the remaining seven laps, Palmer opened up a three second lead to claim his first win in the main championship, after a victory in the winter series last November.

Sennan Fielding robbed Nicolas Beer of fourth place on lap three, with the Dane just holding off Gustavo Lima to finish fifth.

Diego Menchaca just beat Arjun Maini to the line to take seventh, with the top ten completed by Struan Moore and Chris Middlehurst.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap?
1 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport 10 laps in 18’44.515
2 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +3.050
3 George Russell Lanan Racing +3.299
4 Sennan Fielding HHC Motorsport +5.027
5 Nicolas Beer Sean Walkinshaw Racing +9.296
6 Gustavo Lima Hillspeed +9.806
7 Diego Menchaca Douglas Motorsport +12.361
8 Arjun Maini Lanan Racing +12.446
9 Struan Moore Lanan Racing +13.023
10 Chris Middlehurst Mark Godwin Racing +13.905
11 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +14.730
12 David Wagner Mark Godwin Racing +17.267
13 Rodrigo Fonseca Douglas Motorsport +20.031
14 Gaetano Di Mauro Petroball Racing +20.181
15 Charlie Eastwood Douglas Motorsport +26.428
16 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing +26.744
17 Diego Borrelli Sean Walkinshaw Racing +35.365
18 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing +36.172
Not classified
Michael Claessens Mark Godwin Racing +1 lap
Dan Roeper Petroball Racing +3 laps