Home News Tom Dillmann and AVF fly again in afternoon session

Tom Dillmann and AVF fly again in afternoon session

by Peter Allen
Tom Dillmann

Photo: Formula 3.5 V8

Tom Dillmann stayed on top in the afternoon session on day two of the Formula 3.5 V8 test at Aragon after another rapid turn of pace for the AVF team.

The 26-year-old, who raced for Carlin this year, came out second best in a battle with two-time 2015 race-winner Egor Orudzhev over top spot in the middle of the final hour before his team-mate Alfonso Celis then took a turn out front.

Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 champion Jack Aitken went one thousandth of a second faster than the Mexican with six minutes left on the clock but he was immediately bettered by Dillmann by one tenth.

The Frenchman then made three more consecutive improvements to end up on a 1m40.728s, two tenths faster than his morning time.

He was again the only driver below the 1m41s mark with Orudzhev 0.373s back in second place.

Aitken improved his time before the end but was ultimately beaten to third place by his fellow Strakka Racing tester and FR2.0 team-mate Jake Hughes, just 0.02s separating the Britons.

Celis was fifth ahead of another pair of compatriots and FR2.0 team-mates, Swiss duo Louis Deletraz (Fortec) and Kevin Jorg (Arden).

Tech 1 racer Aurelien Panis was eighth in front of Daniel De Jong, making his return from injury by testing with Lotus, and Yu Kanamaru of Pons.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Tom Dillmann AVF 1:40.728 31
2 Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 1:41.101 0.373 42
3 Jake Hughes Strakka Racing 1:41.148 0.420 32
4 Jack Aitken Strakka Racing 1:41.168 0.440 32
5 Alfonso Celis AVF 1:41.244 0.516 31
6 Louis Deletraz Fortec Motorsports 1:41.467 0.739 27
7 Kevin Jorg Arden Motorsport 1:41.822 1.094 30
8 Aurelien Panis Tech 1 Racing 1:42.018 1.290 32
9 Daniel De Jong Lotus 1:42.052 1.324 33
10 Yu Kanamaru Pons Racing 1:42.250 1.522 29
11 Vladimir Atoev Spirit of Race 1:42.341 1.613 24
12 Nikita Zlobin Spirit of Race 1:42.432 1.704 32
13 Alex Bosak Fortec Motorsports 1:42.566 1.838 29
14 Roy Nissany Tech 1 Racing 1:43.061 2.333 27
15 Tatiana Calderon Pons Racing 1:43.217 2.489 29
16 Guillaume Cunnington Lotus 1:48.569 7.841 34