Home News Tio Ellinas returns to F3.5V8 and sets pace on final morning

Tio Ellinas returns to F3.5V8 and sets pace on final morning

by Peter Allen
Tio Ellinas

Photo: Lorenzo Charlez/AS Media

Tio Ellinas returned to Formula 3.5 V8 for the final day of the Aragon test and set the pace in the morning session.

The Strakka Racing driver, making his first appearance of post-season testing, beat Thursday’s dominant leader Tom Dillmann (AVF) by just over a tenth of a second to register the best time of the week so far, a 1m40.686s.

While rookies have shown well all week, Kevin Jorg was the only one in the top six in this session, returning to Lotus from Arden.

Carlin is back in action after missing Thursday and Dean Stoneman took fourth for the team ahead of Arden’s Egor Orudzhev and AVF’s Alfonso Celis.

Fortec tester Louis Deletraz was seventh in front of Jake Hughes, who has switched to Carlin after spending the previous four test days with Strakka.

Yu Kanamaru was ninth for Pons in front of GP3 race-winner Jimmy Eriksson, who’s taken Jorg’s place at Arden. The Swede previously tested the car with DAMS 12 months ago.

Callum Ilott is back in a Strakka car after Jack Aitken moved to Fortec, his third team in as many days, with the pair 11th and 12th respectively.

One other change to the line-up for day three is Anthoine Hubert getting a second day with Tech 1 in place of Aurelien Panis.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Tio Ellinas Strakka Racing 1:40.686 42
2 Tom Dillmann AVF 1:40.792 0.106 35
3 Kevin Jorg Lotus 1:41.068 0.382 23
4 Dean Stoneman Carlin 1:41.069 0.383 27
5 Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 1:41.085 0.399 38
6 Alfonso Celis AVF 1:41.103 0.417 32
7 Louis Deletraz Fortec Motorsports 1:41.178 0.492 37
8 Jake Hughes Carlin 1:41.212 0.526 26
9 Yu Kanamaru Pons Racing 1:41.472 0.786 39
10 Jimmy Eriksson Arden Motorsport 1:41.642 0.956 43
11 Callum Ilott Strakka Racing 1:41.649 0.963 44
12 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 1:41.716 1.030 46
13 Roy Nissany Tech 1 Racing 1:41.732 1.046 45
14 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 1:41.763 1.077 36
15 Tatiana Calderon Pons Racing 1:41.817 1.131 28
16 Vladimir Atoev Spirit of Race 1:41.845 1.159 28
17 Nikita Zlobin Spirit of Race 1:42.199 1.513 23
18 Guillaume Cunnington Lotus 1:47.035 6.349 33