Home Formula 3Euroformula Tereshchenko triumphs in first EF Open race at Estoril

Tereshchenko triumphs in first EF Open race at Estoril

by Gruz David


Konstantin Tereshchenko took a lights-to-flag victory in the Saturday EF Open race at Estoril.

The Russian kept the lead at the start and, although he had Vitor Baptista less than a second behind him for the whole race, the Brazilian was never close enough to manage an overtake.

Despite taking second on the road, Baptista received a ten-second penalty at the end for not slowing down enough under yellow flags, which made him lose two places.

This allowed Yarin Stern and Yu Kanamaru to complete the podium, having both spent the race not far off the leading duo.

Andres Saravia was running sixth for most of the race but a collision between him and Tanart Sathienthirakul led to him losing three places.

The Thai driver finished fifth ahead of the RP trio of Damiano Fioravanti, Igor Walilko and Saravia.

Leonardo Pulcini had crossed the line in fifth but also had a time penalty, ending up ninth, while Diego Menchaca completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing 19 laps in 30:32.064
2 Yarin Stern Team West-Tec F3 +2.480
3 Yu Kanamaru EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +3.428
4 Vitor Baptista RP Motorsport +10.325*
5 Tanart Sathienthirakul Team West-Tec F3 +15.642
6 Damiano Fioravanti RP Motorsport +16.837
7 Igor Walilko RP Motorsport +17.422
8 Andres Saravia RP Motorsport +20.274
9 Leonardo Pulcini DAV Racing +20.800*
10 Diego Menchaca Campos Racing +27.458
11 Alessio Rovera BVM Racing +30.923
12 Alexey Chuklin Corbetta Competizioni +37.498
13 Luis Michael Dorrbecker EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +39.961
14 Henrique Baptista Campos Racing +45.172
15 Ahmad Al Ghanem Campos Racing +45.258
16 Antoni Ptak RP Motorsport +45.883
Not classified
Jose Manuel Vilalta EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +8 laps
Dzhon Simonyan RP Motorsport +11 laps
William Barbosa BVM Racing +18 laps

* – 10-second penalty