Home News Tan victorious in first race of Indianapolis triple-header

Tan victorious in first race of Indianapolis triple-header

by Gruz David
Photo: Andersen Promotions

Photo: Andersen Promotions

Andretti’s Weiron Tan took his second victory of the 2015 Pro Mazda season after winning in a caution-heavy race at Indianapolis Speedway.

The race has been held to make up for the cancelled NOLA Park race, which the organizers had to call off due to heavy rain.

As such, Tan started from pole but the race was almost immediately yellow-flagged after Florian Latorre‘s car rolled over at turn one.

Tan had to defend from Timothe Buret after the restart but he held on until the second caution stint, which was caused by a collision between Dalton Kellett and Kyle Connery.

This time around Tan’s getaway was perfect and Buret had to look over his shoulders instead to fend off Neil Alberico‘s charges.

While the Frenchman initially the championship leader, he started to rapidly close in on Tan but yet another caution interrupted the race.

There was only one lap left after the restart which Tan controlled to secure the win. Buret collected his third podium in the past four races while Alberico completed the podium.

Santiago Urrutia lost eight positions at the start but swiftly recovered to claim fourth, ahead of Garret Grist, who passed Patricio O’Ward on the final lap.

Last year’s runner-up Scott Hargrove, who has returned to Pro Mazda for a one-off weekend, took seventh after starting 16th. He was followed by Will Owen, Daniel Burkett and Victor Franzoni, who has made a surprise mid-season move from USF2000 to Pro Mazda.

Race on results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Weiron Tan Andretti Autosport 15 laps in 30:56.5242
2 Timothe Buret Juncos Racing 0.5689
3 Neil Alberico Cape Motorsports w/ WTR 1.7749
4 Santiago Urrutia Team Pelfrey 2.3538
5 Garret Grist Juncos Racing 5.5516
6 Patricio O’Ward Team Pelfrey 6.0094
7 Scott Hargrove JDC Motorsports 7.0236
8 Will Owen Juncos Racing 7.2650
9 Daniel Burkett Cape Motorsports w/ WTR 7.2744
10 Victor Franzoni M1 Racing 7.8512
11 Dalton Kellett Andretti Autosport 9.7094
12 Jose Gutierrez Juncos Racing 11.1330
13 Alessando Latif World Speed Motorsports 11.9134
14 Bobby Eberle World Speed Motorsports 14.1532
15 Bob Kaminsky Kaminsky Racing 15.7781
16 Kevin Davis JDC Motorsports 16.1220
17 Carlos Conde M1 Racing 23.4478
18 Raoul Owens Team Pelfrey 32.9331
19 Parker Nicklin JDC Motorsports +4 laps
20 Kyle Connery JDC Motorsports +11 laps
21 Florian Latorre Cape Motorsports w/ WTR +15 laps