Home Formula 3Euroformula Stuvik beats Jones to race one victory at Spa

Stuvik beats Jones to race one victory at Spa

by Gruz David


Sandy Stuvik converted his pole position into a well-fought race victory against Ed Jones in the first F3 Open race at Spa-Francorchamps.

Stuvik and Jones switched positions several times during the race, however, the Thai driver took the lead during the closing stages and celebrated his second victory of the season.

Santiago Urrutia secured a solid podium, having spent most of the race in third, while Nelson Mason heroically finished fourth, keeping his title hopes alive despite him starting from 23rd.

Debutant Brandon Maisano finished an impressive fifth, managing to hold Yarin Stern and Hector Hurst behind.

Alexandre Cougnaud endured a difficult race from front row, as he finished only eighth. Valeria Carballo recorded her third point-scoring finish of the season in ninth, as series returnee Jonathan Legris?ended up tenth on his return to F3 Open.

Cameron Twynham finished 14th, taking the Copa class victory, in front of Che One Lim and Sean Walkinshaw. Alex Toril finished outside of the points for the first time in the 2013 season, after he was spun around by Denis Nagulin in the early stages of the race.

In the standings, Stuvik now leads Jones by 14 points, with Urrutia and Mason trailing the leader by 36 and 46 points respectively.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport 30:22.912
2 Ed Jones Team West-Tec +1.307
3 Santiago Urrutia RP Motorsport +5.877
4 Nelson Mason Team West-Tec +7.063
5 Brandon Maisano DAV Racing +20.614
6 Yarin Stern RP Motorsport +21.492
7 Hector Hurst EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +22.781
8 Alexandre Cougnaud RP Motorsport +23.394
9 Valeria Carballo Campos Racing +33.859
10 Jonathan Legris Team West-Tec +34.082
11 Alex Toril RP Motorsport +36.253
12 Vicky Piria BVM Racing +38.212
13 Artur Janosz Campos Racing +39.097
14 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec +45.944
15 Che One Lim EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +46.411
16 Sean Walkinshaw Team West-Tec +47.317
17 Tommaso Menchini Corbetta Competizioni +47.647
18 Saud Al-Faisal RP Motorsport +56.313
19 Igor Urien EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +1:07.045
20 Denis Nagulin Campos Racing +1:09.545
21 Gerardo Nieto DAV Racing +1:25.789
22 Alexey Chuklin EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +1 Lap
23 Huan Zhu Team West-Tec +1 Lap
24 Trino Rojas RP Motorsport +1 Lap
25 Richard Gonda Drivex School +2 Laps
Not classified
Nicolas Pohler DAV Racing +6 Laps
Liam Venter Team West-Tec +13 Laps
Andres Saravia EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +13 Laps
Mario Marasca BVM Racing +13 Laps
Damiano Fioravanti Corbetta Competizioni +13 Laps