Home News Stoffel Vandoorne takes home race victory at Spa

Stoffel Vandoorne takes home race victory at Spa

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: Renault Sport

Belgian youngster Stoffel Vandoorne took his second victory of the WSR season, overtaking two cars on the first lap to capture the lead and hold it until the checkered flag.

Vandoorne started in third behind Kevin Magnussen and Nico Muller, fighting up to second into T1 and then overtaking Muller into Les Combes.

It was Will Stevens who finished in second, ahead of Magnussen, who was passed by the Brit with few laps to go. Nico Muller was let down by a bad pit stop and finished in fifth, behind Antonio Felix da Costa.

In sixth, Nigel Melker completed a strong weekend of WSR racing, after passing Carlos Sainz, Jr. in the closing stages of the race – albeit the Dutchman is still under investigation for a collision with teammate Mikhail Aleshin that ruled the Russian out of the race. Sainz himself was defending seventh on the final lap, before colliding with Jazeman Jaafar and ending his race in the barrier.

As such, Nikolay Martsenko inherited seventh, ahead of compatriot Sergey Sirotkin. Vandoorne’s teammate Oliver Webb was ninth, while Marco Sorensen took the final point, having qualified in 21st.

In the championship standings, Magnussen continues to lead with 116 points. His main rivals, Vandoorne and Felix da Costa, are at 86 and 71 respectively.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team? Time/Gap
1 Stoffel Vandoorne Fortec Motorsports 21 laps in 47:06.630
2 Will Stevens P1 by Strakka Racing +4.536
3 Kevin Magnussen DAMS +6.203
4 Antonio Felix da Costa Arden Caterham +7.138
5 Nico Muller International Draco Racing +8.490
6 Nigel Melker Tech 1 Racing +19.702
7 Nikolay Martsenko Pons Racing +26.531
8 Sergey Sirotkin ISR +27.406
9 Oliver Webb Fortec Motorsports +28.133
10 Marco Sorensen Lotus +29.203
11 Matias Laine P1 by Strakka Racing +31.278
12 Pietro Fantin Arden Caterham +32.463
13 Christopher Zanella ISR +33.444
14 Mihai Marinescu Zeta Corse +42.661
15 Norman Nato DAMS +44.280
16 Zoel Amberg Pons Racing +46.298
17 Marlon Stockinger Lotus +46.617
18 Carlos Sainz Jr. Zeta Corse +2 Laps
19 Jazeman Jaafar Carlin +2 Laps
Not classified
  Carlos Huertas Carlin 17 laps
  Mikhail Aleshin Tech 1 Racing 6 laps
  Lucas Foresti SMP Racing by Comtec 0 laps
  Andre Negrao International Draco Racing 0 laps
  Daniil Move SMP Racing by Comtec 0 laps
  Arthur Pic AV Formula 0 laps
  Yann Cunha AV Formula 0 laps