Home News Stockinger quickest on day two of FR3.5 Catalunya test

Stockinger quickest on day two of FR3.5 Catalunya test

by Peter Allen
Marlon Stockinger

Photo: Renault Sport/DPPI

Marlon Stockinger posted the fastest time on the second day of Formula Renault 3.5 post-season testing in Catalunya.

Returning to the Lotus team after testing with DAMS on Tuesday, the Filipino driver – 18th in his rookie season in 2013 – set the day’s best time of 1m30.218s early in the afternoon and finished the session 0.635 seconds clear of the rest.

It bettered the morning benchmark of Will Stevens, who finished fourth in this year’s standings after a double podium last weekend, by 0.123s.

Strakka driver Stevens had in turn been 0.022 seconds ahead of Sauber F1 hopeful Sergey Sirotkin, who was with his 2013 squad ISR. Tuesday pace-setter Carlos Sainz was third quickest in the morning having switched from Pons to DAMS.

Zoel Amberg was fourth for Arden Caterham ahead of Matthieu Vaxiviere, finishing up as the best series rookie on his second day with Lotus. Pietro Fantin took sixth for Draco ahead of Oliver Rowland with Fortec and Stockinger. Daniil Move was ninth in the second ISR car with GP2 contender Stefano Coletti tenth for his old FR3.5 team Comtec.

Amberg was second quickest in the afternoon ahead of Antonio Felix da Costa, who lined up with Carlin following the disappointment of being overlooked for the Toro Rosso seat.

Sirotkin was fourth ahead of Ferrari protege Raffaele Marciello, who today was testing with Tech 1 after running with DAMS on Tuesday. Matias Laine took sixth for Strakka in front of Sainz, Rowland, Stevens and Nikolai Martsenko, driving the second Fortec machine after switching exchanging his Zeta seat with Riccardo Agostini.

Session results

Pos. Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Marlon Stockinger Lotus 1:31.000 1:30.218
2 Will Stevens Strakka Racing 1:30.341 1:31.364
3 Sergey Sirotkin ISR 1:30.363 1:31.074
4 Carlos Sainz DAMS 1:30.548 1:31.234
5 Zoel Amberg Arden Caterham 1:30.616 1:30.853
6 Matthieu Vaxiviere Lotus 1:30.767 1:31.622
7 Pietro Fantin International Draco Racing 1:30.786 1:31.611
8 Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsports 1:30.941 1:31.301
9 Antonio Felix da Costa Carlin 1:31.445 1:30.957
10 Raffaele Marciello Tech 1 Racing 1:32.474 1:31.145
11 Daniil Move ISR 1:31.150 1:33.954
12 Matias Laine Strakka Racing 1:32.057 1:31.155
13 Stefano Coletti SMP Racing by Comtec 1:31.386 1:32.860
14 Nikolay Martsenko Fortec Motorsports 1:32.356 1:31.439
15 Nick Yelloly SMP Racing by Comtec 1:32.461 1:31.549
16 Alexander Sims Carlin 1:32.793 1:31.573
17 William Buller DAMS 1:32.402 1:31.657
18 Lucas Foresti AV Formula 1:31.665 1:32.091
19 Luca Ghiotto Pons Racing 1:32.169 1:31.736
20 Jann Mardenborough Arden Caterham 1:31.797 1:32.187
21 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing 1:32.823 1:31.885
22 Andre Negrao International Draco Racing 1:32.269 1:31.914
23 Riccardo Agostini Zeta Corse 1:32.693 1:31.981
24 Vittorio Ghirelli AV Formula 1:32.926 1:32.515
25 Roman Mavlanov Zeta Corse 1:33.150 1:32.801
26 Chewon Im Pons Racing 1:36.845 1:34.437

Quickest personal time in bold
Quickest time of session in italics