Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Steijn Schothorst scores maiden Toyota Racing Series win

Steijn Schothorst scores maiden Toyota Racing Series win

by Peter Allen

Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Steijn Schothorst stormed to his first Toyota Racing Series victory in the first race of the final weekend of the campaign at Manfeild, the Dan Higgins Memorial Trophy.

Lining up second on the grid, the Dutch youngster got the jump on pole man Alex Lynnoff the line and led for the rest of the race.

The race was called three laps early under safety car after Jann Mardenborough spun off.

Nick Cassidy extended his championship lead by finishing in second having also got by Lynn at the start, with Lynn completing the podium in third. Cassidy’s main title rival Lucas Auer. Steijn’s older brother Pieter Schothorst claimed an impressive fifth on his TRS debut ahead of Brazilian duo Pipo Derani and Bruno Bonifacio and their Giles Motorsport teammate Felix Serralles, who will start from reverse grid pole for race two.

Race one results

Pos Name Team Time/Gap
1 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition 17 laps in 20:17.102
2 Nick Cassidy M2 Competition +0.702
3 Alex Lynn M2 Competition +1.831
4 Lucas Auer Giles Motorsport +2.405
5 Pieter Schothorst M2 Competition +3.313
6 Pipo Derani Giles Motorsport +3.895
7 Bruno Bonifacio Giles Motorsport +4.549
8 Felix Serralles Giles Motorsport +5.161
9 Ignazio D’Agosto Victory Motor Racing +5.622
10 Tanart Sathienthirakul ETEC Motorsport +6.169
11 Nicholas Latifi Giles Motorsport +7.340
12 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +8.178
13 Dennis Olsen M2 Competition +9.080
14 Andrew Tang ETEC Motorsport +10.046
15 Tatiana Calderon ETEC Motorsport +11.160
16 Spike Goddard M2 Competition +12.392
17 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing +13.032
18 Akash Nandy ETEC Motorsport +13.472
19 Ken Smith Giles Motorsport +13.811
Ret Jann Mardenborough ETEC Motorsport + 3 laps