Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Solomon halts Munro’s run with maiden FMCS victory

Solomon halts Munro’s run with maiden FMCS victory

by Aditya Banerjee
Photo: Formula Masters China

Photo: Formula Masters China

Matthew Solomon stopped James Munro‘s winning streak in the Formula Masters China 2014 season in race two at Inje, recording his maiden victory in the series and Eurasia’s first win this year.

Solomon started on the front row alongside Munro, who held pole after posting the fastest lap in race one. The Hong Kong-based driver managed to get a strong start, vaulting into the lead at the first corner.

Munro followed Solomon closely for most of the race, but was unable to find a way through and had to settle for second.

Munro’s teammate Dan Wells finished in third place. Akhil Rabindra ran fourth for most of the race, before spinning off into retirement at turn eight.

This promoted Ronald Wu to a strong fourth place, his best finish of the season, just ahead of Darma Hutomo, with Andersen Martono finishing sixth for Meritus.

Yuan Bo and Matthew Swanepoel, who tangled in the first race, started race two in 14th and 15th places. Both drivers managed to make up positions in race two, with the Chinese driver finishing in seventh, while the South African came home ninth. The two drivers were split by Senna Iriawan in eighth, with Bao Jin Long completing the top ten.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Matthew Solomon Eurasia Motorsport 7 laps in 10:54.825
2 James Munro KCMG +1.423
3 Dan Wells KCMG +4.231
4 Ronald Wu Zen Motorsport +12.003
5 Darma Hutomo Humpuss Junior Racing Team +12.744
6 Andersen Martono Meritus GP +15.015
7 Yuan Bo Eurasia Motorsport +21.649
8 Yasuo Senna Iriawan Humpuss Junior Racing Team +23.743
9 Matthew Swanepoel KCMG +24.006
10 Bao Jin Long Zen Motorsport +26.783
11 Mandla Mdakane Meritus GP +32.951
12 Hua Miao Zen Motorsport +40.645
13 Pu Jun Jin Eurasia Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
Akhil Rabindra Meco Motorsports +3 laps
Yin Hai Tao Zen Motorsport +7 laps