Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Rowland takes impressive win at Spa

Rowland takes impressive win at Spa

by Ant Musker

Photo: Renault Sport/DPPI

Oliver Rowland produced some fine overtaking to record his first win for Manor MP in this weekend?s opening Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 race at Spa Francorchamps.

The Racing Steps Foundation driver started from fifth on the grid but charged into the lead on lap four thanks to overtakes on Oscar Tunjo and fellow Brit and pole man Jake Dennis.

Dennis had initially got away well before Rowland came through. From then on he was relatively untroubled, creating a comfortable gap between himself and Tunjo who was later passed by the Tech 1 car of Pierre Gasly.

Further back, Prema Powerteam wildcard and Alps double race winner Antonio Fuoco was busy, joining the top ten from twelfth on the grid. He enjoyed battling with team-mate Luca Ghiotto for sixth place, the pair exchanging track position numerously before Ghiotto eventually was forced to stop due to an electrical issue.

Nyck de Vries and Guilherme Silva collided on lap seven while Gasly climbed to second, passing Tunjo as Dennis lacked the pace he showed to achieve pole and continued to slip as far down as sixth with Andrea Pizzitola making a late charge to fourth place.

William Vermont who started third, dropped down to seventh as Esteban Ocon finished in eighth. Stefan Wackerbauer achieved a top ten finish and Fortec?s Mikko Pakari finished comfortably ahead of Matthieu Vaxiviere who had to settle for eleventh.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team? Time/Gap
1 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport 12 laps in 27:49.460
2 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing +1.711
3 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing +5.194
4 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team +8.324
5 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam +9.242
6 Jake Dennis Fortec Motorsports +10.271
7 William Vermont ARTA Engineering +10.989
8 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team +11.393
9 Stefan Wackerbauer Interwetten.com Racing +14.388
10 Mikko Pakari Fortec Motorsports +15.693
11 Matthieu Vaxiviere Tech 1 Racing +21.841
12 Victor Franzoni Koiranen GP +22.021
13 Levin Amweg Jenzer Motorsport +23.381
14 Alexander Albon KTR +24.448
15 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +24.645
16 Yu Kanamaru KTR +25.298
17 Gregor Ramsay Euronova Racing +26.703
18 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport +27.827
19 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +28.153
20 Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport +31.125
21 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing +33.993
22 Hans Villemi Atech Reid GP +37.860
23 Javier Merlo Manor MP Motorsport +42.257
24 Leo Roussel ARTA Engineering +43.278
25 Francisco Amado Euronova Racing +57.030
26 Joffrey De Narda ARTA Engineering +57.302
27 Alex Bosak Atech Reid GP +58.359
28 Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing +1:08.357
29 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +1:43.600
30 Simon Tirman ARTA Engineering +1:49.788
31 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam +1 lap
32 Konstantin Tereschenko Interwetten.com Racing +1 lap
Not classfied
  Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing 7 laps
  Guilherme Silva Koiranen GP 6 laps
  Nyck De Vries Koiranen GP 6 laps
  Aurelien Panis RC Formula 5 laps
  Ignazio D’Agosto KTR 4 laps
  Benjamin Bailly RC Formula 3 laps
  Alex Baron ART Junior Team 3 laps