Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Rosenqvist wins first Hockenheim race to keep title chances alive

Rosenqvist wins first Hockenheim race to keep title chances alive

by Peter Allen
Felix Rosenqvist

Photo: FIA F3 European Championship/Thomas Suer

Felix Rosenqvist beat his title rival Raffaele Marciello off the line to win the first FIA F3 European Championship race at Hockenheim and remain in a mathematical chance of winning the championship.

Marciello started on pole position but Rosenqvist was able to pull alongside and then take the lead down the inside of the first corner.

The Swede was able to quickly put a comfortable margin between himself and his Italian adversary, winning the race by 5.9 seconds. As a result he has closed the points gap to Marciello to 38.5 points. With 25 points available for a win, fourth place in race two will be enough for Marciello to wrap up the title. He will start second on the grid behind Rosenqvist.

In a largely processional race, one eventful moment came in the battle for third. Alex Lynn stalked Harry Tincknell in the early stages before making an overly ambitious move at the hairpin. The door was closed by Tincknell and the pair interlocked wheels, both running wide and Lynn emerging ahead.

Sven Muller however took advantage to move past the battling Brits and score his first podium of the season, following his switch from Ma-Con to Van Amersfoort Racing.

Lynn and Tincknell completed the top five with fellow English ace Jordan King in sixth. Pipo Derani took seventh just ahead of Dennis van de Laar, with?Eddie Cheever and Tom Blomqvist completing the top ten.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 22 laps in 34:42.654
2 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam +5.940
3 Sven Muller Van Amersfoort Racing +10.813
4 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam +14.396
5 Harry Tincknell Carlin +17.373
6 Jordan King Carlin +18.565
7 Pipo Derani Fortec Motorsports +22.014
8 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort Racing +22.728
9 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam +25.311
10 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational +26.436
11 Felix Serralles Fortec Motorsports +28.602
12 Nicholas Latifi Carlin +30.010
13 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec Motorsports +30.655
14 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport +33.941
15 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport +34.554
16 Jann Mardenborough Carlin +41.522
17 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing +43.424
18 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +47.126
19 Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport +51.318
20 Andr? Rudersdorf Ma-Con +52.025
21 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing +54.500
22 Spike Goddard T-Sport +59.995
23 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +1:02.335
24 Nick Cassidy Carlin +1:10.780
25 Sean Gelael Double R Racing +1:22.496
26 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam + 1 lap
Not classified
Stefano Coletti Ma-Con 17 laps
Kevin Korjus T-Sport 2 laps