Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Rosenqvist cruises to Spielberg victory

Rosenqvist cruises to Spielberg victory

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: FIA F3

Mucke’s Felix Rosenqvist secured his third win of the season in race one of European F3 at Spielberg, taking the lead into turn one and running the rest of the race on cruise control.

Daniil Kvyat, having started from pole, lost out to Rosenqvist from the line but managed to hold on to second, also having a rather uneventful race from that point on. Behind them, however, viewers were treated to a very eventful 24 laps.

After a very long fight for third between Lucas Wolf and Jordan King, it was Carlin’s King who came out on top, passing the German and taking his first European F3 podium. Wolf proceeded to lose lots of ground throughout the next laps, until he ended up punting Tom Blomqvist off and receiving a race-ruining drive through.

In fourth, Raffaele Marciello drove a very strong race with lots of overtaking action, only getting ahead of Canadian Nicholas Latifi on the last lap. Sven Muller followed in sixth after an early collision with Lucas Auer, who then spectacularly managed to fight back to take tenth.

Other Prema drivers, Alex Lynn and Eddie Cheever, produced a great deal of on-track action in the last few laps before taking seventh and eighth, while Mucke’s Michael Lewis and Roy Nissany picked up the remaining points in ninth and 11th.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 24 laps in 34:49.387
2 Daniil Kvyat Carlin +14.306
3 Jordan King Carlin +26.850
4 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam +29.182
5 Nicholas Latifi Carlin +32.274
6 Sven Muller Carlin +33.815
7 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam +35.358
8 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam +40.920
9 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport +41.657
10 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam +42.151
11 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +44.829
12 Harry Tincknell Carlin +44.999
13 Jann Mardenborough Carlin +46.820
14 William Buller Fortec +48.796
15 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing +56.215
16 Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport +59.128
17 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational +1:03.634
18 Pipo Derani Fortec +1:06.935
19 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +1:11.463
20 Andre Rudersdorf Carlin +1:11.954
21 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing +1:27.718
22 Sean Gelael Double R Racing +1 lap
23 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort +1 lap
24 Spike Goddard ThreeBond/T-Sport +1 lap
25 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
Mans Grenhagen Van Amersfoort +8 laps
Felix Serralles Fortec +17 laps
Josh Hill Fortec +21 laps