Home Formula 2 Quaife-Hobbs seals 2014 GP2 deal with Rapax

Quaife-Hobbs seals 2014 GP2 deal with Rapax

by Peter Allen
Adrian Quaife Hobbs

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Media Service

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs will continue in the GP2 Series for a second year after agreeing a deal with Rapax for 2014.

The Briton, who dominated the Auto GP series in 2012, finished 13th in his rookie campaign last season. He began the year with MP Motorsport and scored a second-place finish in Monaco, but switched to Hilmer from Hungary and claimed a third place in Spa and a maiden win in the reverse grid race at Monza.

?I am delighted to be joining Rapax for my 2014 season in GP2,” said the 23-year-old.

“After a successful rookie year in the 2013 GP2 season I am looking forward to returning this season to fight for the championship. Together with Rapax I feel we can have a winning season. I am looking forward to getting in the car in Abu Dhabi for pre-season testing and working alongside a great team?.

Quaife-Hobbs will line-up alongside Simon Trummer, who remains with the Italian squad for a second season. Rapax took Pastor Maldonado to the GP2 title in 2010 and won three races at the start of 2013 with Stefano Coletti.

?I am very happy and proud to have Adrian in our team,” said Rapax CEO?Andrea Bergamini.

“He is one of the most impressive young drivers of the last season and he will be forming a high-quality pairing with Simon. Adrian can also benefit from the good developmental path he has enjoyed.

“He grew up season after season and did well in all the series he entered so far. I am also happy to welcome a driver from the British tradition. I expect a top-class mix together with the Italian professionalism of Team Rapax.”

2014 GP2 Series line-up so far
Team Drivers
Russian Time Mitch Evans Artem Markelov
Carlin Julian Leal
Racing Engineering Raffaele Marciello
DAMS Jolyon Palmer Stephane Richelmi
ART Grand Prix Stoffel Vandoorne Takuya Izawa
Hilmer Motorsport Daniel Abt Facu Regalia
Rapax Simon Trummer Adrian Quaife-Hobbs
Arden International Rene Binder Andre Negrao
Caterham Racing Alexander Rossi Rio Haryanto
MP Motorsport Daniel De Jong
Trident Racing Johnny Cecotto
Campos Racing Arthur Pic Kimiya Sato