Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Picariello scores dominant home victory at Spa-Francorchamps

Picariello scores dominant home victory at Spa-Francorchamps

by Stephen Goddard

Photo: ADAC

Local boy Alessio Picariello drove a superb race in tricky conditions to win the first race this afternoon at Spa-Francorchamps.

The race was started behind the safety car due to the wet conditions. Once the safety car peeled off on lap three, the Belgian immediately pounced on pole-sitter Jason Kremer, assuming the lead exiting La Source.

Picariello pulled out a healthy advantage, which would end up being 18.279 seconds at the chequered flag, from the chasing Kremer, Maximillian Gunther and Nicolas Beer. A brilliant three way battle ensued for second, third and fourth place with several changes of position throughout the race. Kremer managed to eventually pull enough of a gap to hold on for second from Gunther, with Beer having to settle for fourth place after some spectacular overtaking under brakes at the Bus Stop chicane.

Hendrik Grapp came home in fifth position ahead of Ralph Boschung and Fabian Schiller in sixth and seventh. The top ten was rounded out by Lotus drivers Indy Dontje and Mikkel Jensen, with Stefan Riener coming home in tenth place.

Due to the tricky conditions there were several spins throughout the field, with the only major incidents being an accident that eliminated Beitske Visser and St?phane Kox and a penultimate lap tangle between Callan O?Keefe and Florian Herzog, which eliminated the German from the race and pushing the South African out of the points into twelfth place.

Race two will commence tomorrow morning at 10:20 (CEST) with Jason Kremer on pole once again.

Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Alessio Picariello Mucke Motorsport 26:27.995
2 Jason Kremer Schiller Motorsport +18.279
3 Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport +18.541
4 Nicolas Beer Neuhauser Racing +19.101
5 Hendrik Grapp Mucke Motorsport +20.142
6 Ralph Boschung Team KUG Motorsport +23.883
7 Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport +25.017
8 Indy Dontje Lotus +40.264
9 Mikkel Jensen Lotus +41.443
10 Stefan Riener Neuhauser Racing +42.348
11 Marvin Dienst Neuhauser Racing +43.547
12 Callan O’Keeffe Lotus +43.868
13 Kim Luis Schramm Mucke Motorsport +43.983
14 Benedikt Gentgen JBR Motorsport & Engineering +1:10.401
15 Martin Gatz KSW Motorsport +1:22.065
16 Giorgio Maggi Mucke Motorsport +1:22.078
17 Kim Alexander Giersiepen KSW Motorsport +1:43.585
18 Hannes Utsch JBR Motorsport & Engineering +1:51.925
19 Florian Herzog Team KUG Motorsport +1 lap
Not classified ?
20 Stephane Kox Team KUG Motorsport 1 lap
21 Beitske Visser Lotus 1 lap