Parry earns third win in NEC

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Matt Parry continued to dominate the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC championship, taking the win in race one at Silverstone from second on the grid.

Poleman Jack Aitken, Parry’s teammate and another Intersteps graduate, found himself 3.6s off the race winner at the checkered flag, but still secured his first podium in the championship. Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Dennis Olsen narrowly edged out Nicolas Jamin for the final podium spot.

Mexican Alfonso Celis was fifth, ahead of Roman Beregech and Tanart Sathienthirakul. Having started in last, Kuba Dalewski fought his way up to eighth place, with Victor Sendin and Julio Moreno rounding out the podium.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 11 laps in 25:20.015
2 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +3.538
3 Dennis Olsen Josef Kaufmann Racing +6.102
4 Nicolas Jamin ART Junior Team +6.624
5 Alfonso Celis Fortec Competition +8.400
6 Roman Beregech Fortec Competition +14.647
7 Tanart Sathienthirakul ART Junior Team +14.996
8 Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport +17.299
9 Victor Sendin AV Formula +17.918
10 Julio Moreno JTR Racing +20.543
11 James Fletcher KEO Racing +20.797
12 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Racing +28.625
13 Andres Mendez Mark Burdett Racing +32.950
14 Miika Laiho PositiOne Motorsport +39.328
15 Patric Armand Fortec Motorsports +40.372
16 Cedric Freiburghaus SL Formula +48.420
17 Juan Branger JD Motorsport +59.270
18 Bob Siska SL Formula +1:35.147
19 Ryan Tveter Fortec Competition +1:43.377
Not classified
Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +5 laps
DNS Fran Rueda AV Formula
DNS Jakub Smiechowski Euro Interpol
DNS Corinna Kamper Fortec Competition