Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Munro charges to victory in FMCS opener at Zhuhai

Munro charges to victory in FMCS opener at Zhuhai

by Aditya Banerjee
James Munro

Photo: KCMG

KCMG’s James Munro became the first winner of the 2014 Formula Masters China series season in race one at Zhuhai.

The 17-year-old New Zealander started from second on the grid, but got the jump on teammate Matthew Swanepoel?when the lights went out and was never headed thereafter, winning by over five seconds.

Super License’s Yuja Motojima finished in second place, with Munro’s teammate?Dan Wells taking the final podium spot, dropping behind Motojima after encountering a gearbox problem.

Polesitter Swanepoel stalled at the start after a clutch overload and required a bump start to get away. He managed to climb back up to fifth from last, but was handed a 30-second time penalty for the start, which dropped him back to 12th.

Darma Hutomo picked up fourth place for Humpuss, ahead of Eurasia drivers Bo Yuan?and Ronald Wu.?Eurasia’s Matthew Solomon came home seventh, having starting from the pit lane after stalling on the formation lap due to a clutch issue. Akhil Rabindra, Bao Jin Long?and Senna Iriawan?made up the rest of the point scoring positions.

Munro will start from pole on race two, having set the fastest lap of the race en route to victory. He will line up ahead of Motojima and Wells.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap?
1 James Munro KCMG 10 laps in 18:43.786
2 Yuya Motojima Super License +5.398
3 Dan Wells KCMG +7.736
4 Darma Hutomo Humpuss Junior Racing Team +11.625
5 Yuan Bo Eurasia Motorsport +18.041
6 Ronald Wu Zen Motorsport +18.759
7 Matthew Solomon Eurasia Motorsport +18.815
8 Akhil Rabindra Meco Motorsport +27.587
9 Bao Jin Long Zen Motorsport +28.118
10 Yasuo Senna Iriawan Humpuss Junior Racing Team +28.705
11 Andersen Martono Meritus GP +37.064
12 Matthew Swanepoel KCMG +44.476
Not classified
Pu Jun Jin Eurasia Motorsport +5 laps
Yin Hai Tao Zen Motorsport +8 laps
Aston Hare Meritus GP +10 laps
Mandla Mdakane Meritus GP +10 laps
Hua Miao Zen Motorsport +10 laps
Sean Hudspeth Eurasia Motorsport +10 laps