Home Formula 3GB3 Morris beats Barlow to take long-awaited maiden victory

Morris beats Barlow to take long-awaited maiden victory

by Gruz David

Photo: BRDC F4

After seven prior podium finishes, Seb Morris finally claimed his maiden BRDC F4 victory in the twentieth race of the newly-established championship at Snetterton.

Starting from second, Morris maintained his position after the start, slotting in behind poleman Jack Barlow. For most of the race, Morris was putting pressure on Barlow and he eventually found a way through, taking the lead that he kept until the checkered flag.

While Morris never quite pulled away, Barlow was busy defending his position from championship leader Jake Hughes. He came under severe pressure from Hughes on the final lap of the race, but ultimately held on to second, forcing the points leader to settle for another third-place finish.

Matthew Graham finished fourth, having carried on after a collision with title contender Jake Dalton that put the latter out of the race. Charlie Robertson took fifth, after passing his teammate Gustavo Lima on the last lap. Telmex-backed Diego Menchaca came home seventh ahead of Pietro Fittipaldi, James Greenway and James Fletcher.

In the standings, Hughes leads nearest rival Morris by 30 points, with Barlow a further 11 behind.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Seb Morris Hillspeed 19:13.628
2 Jack Barlow Sean Walkinshaw Racing +0.472
3 Jake Hughes Lanan Racing +1.049
4 Matthew Graham Sean Walkinshaw Racing +2.993
5 Charlie Robertson HHC Motorsport +4.772
6 Gustavo Lima HHC Motorsport +6.097
7 Diego Menchaca Mark Godwin Racing +10.125
8 Pietro Fittipaldi Mark Godwin Racing +10.489
9 James Greenway Private Entry +11.044
10 James Fletcher Team KBS +11.191
11 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +12.916
12 Rahul Mayer Hillspeed +23.464
13 Zou Sirui Sean Walkinshaw Racing +41.786
14 Malgosia Rdest Douglas Team E-Lites +44.614
15 Daniel Headlam Lanan Racing +46.306
16 Matt Bell Douglas Team E-Lites +1 Lap
Struan Moore Hillspeed +1 Lap
Jake Dalton Lanan Racing +6 Laps
Matt Mason Mark Godwin Racing +7 Laps