Home News Middlehurst takes lights-to-flag Thruxton win

Middlehurst takes lights-to-flag Thruxton win

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Chris Middlehurst continued to be the class of the Protyre Formula Renault field, taking his fourth win of the season at Thruxton from pole.

While Middlehurst was largely untouchable in the lead, the fight for second raged on. In the end, it was Martin Cao, having started 17, who bagged his first series podium, finishing in second place. Mexican driver Jorge Cevallos finished in third.

Brazilians Henrique Baptista and Pietro Fittipaldi were fourth and sixth respectively, with Matias Galetto inbetween them. Diego Menchaca finished in seventh, ahead of Piers Hickin, Matt Rao and Edward Brand.

The race saw lots of retirements with potential win contenders Jake Cook, Ivan Taranov and Joe Ghanem crashing out, while Sam MacLeod had his race cut short due to mechanical damage.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Chris Middlehurst MGR Motorsport 18 laps in 26:46.146
2 Hong Wei Cao Fortec Motorsports +11.381
3 Jorge Cevallos MGR Motorsport +11.885
4 Henrique Baptista Scorpio Motorsport +16.229
5 Mat?as Galetto MTech Lite +17.478
6 Pietro Fittipaldi Jamun Racing Services +19.517
7 Diego Menchaca Jamun Racing Services +20.432
8 Piers Hickin Core Motorsport +21.525
9 Matt Rao Hillspeed +21.901
10 Edward Brand MTech Lite +26.251
11 Shahan Sarkissian MTech Lite +27.416
12 Tom Oliphant MGR Motorsport +31.761
13 Weiron Tan Fortec Motorsports +1 lap
Not classified
Joe Ghanem MTech Lite +7 laps
Samuel MacLeod Fortec Motorsports +8 laps
Ivan Taranov Scorpio Motorsport +10 laps
Shaun Thong Fortec Motorsports +14 laps
Jake Cook Hillspeed +17 laps