Home Formula 3GB3 Mealin announced as final signing for BRDC F4 champions Lanan

Mealin announced as final signing for BRDC F4 champions Lanan

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: BRDC F4

Photo: BRDC F4

Formula Ford GB graduate Chris Mealin will switch to BRDC F4 in 2015, joining reigning series champions Lanan Racing.

Mealin, who hails from Isle of Man, contsted the 2014 edition of the Formula Ford series as a Scholarship-class entrant with Falcon Motorsport.

The 21-year-old was top of his class in two races, which included a third-place finish overall in a rain-shortened race at Oulton Park. He finished the season in eighth overall and as third-best Scholarship racer.

“Joining Lanan Racing and BRDC F4 is a great move for me,” claimed Mealin. “They are the only team I wanted to join and I have to thank them for giving me the opportunity to demonstrate my talent.”

“My aim is to finish in the top three of the championship as a minimum but my main goal is to win the title.”

Mealin makes up the complete Lanan Racing line-up alongside karting graduate Jack Bartholomew and sophomore BRDC F4 driver Rodrigo Fonseca.

“Chris had a testing year in Formula Ford last year,” said team boss Graham Johnson. “We gave him a run out in our BRDC F4 car at Oulton Park recently however and he showed an impressive turn of speed. I am sure given our team environment that he will establish himself as a front-runner in Formula 4 over the course of the 2015 season.”

Lanan Racing have won both BRDC F4 drivers’ championships since the series’ inception in 2013 – with Jake Hughes in season one and George Russell in season two respectively.

2015 BRDC F4 Championship line-up so far
Team Driver
Lanan Racing Jack Bartholomew, Rodrigo Fonseca, Chris Mealin
HHC Motorsport Harrison Newey, Will Palmer, Sisa Ngebulana
PetroBall Gaetano di Mauro, Enzo Bortoleto
Hillspeed Al Faisal Al Zubair, Sebastian Lanzetti
Chris Dittmann Racing Omar Ismail, Tom Jackson
Mectech Motorsport Connor Jupp
SWR Zubair Hoque
Lang Sport Jack Lang