Home Formula 4French F4 Mawson wins French F4 thriller at Le Mans

Mawson wins French F4 thriller at Le Mans

by Gruz David
Photo: Auto Sport Academy

Photo: Auto Sport Academy

Australian race Joseph Mawson took a commanding victory in the final race of French F4’s opening round at Le Mans.

Starting from second, Mawson dropped down to fifth off the line, failing to get traction on the wet track. However, having managed several fantastic overtakes in the second half of the race, the 18-year-old karting graduate saw the checkered flag first.

The beginning of the race saw a great duel between polesitter Felix Hirsiger and Lasse Sorensen, the latter taking the lead on lap three with a pass into turn two.

Meanwhile, Lotus F1 junior Dorian Boccolacci settled into third, having improved seven places from his grid position between the start and the first corner of the race.

When Sorensen overtook Hirsiger and began pulling away at a rapid rate, Mawson, then fourth, finally commenced his charge. He first deposed Boccolacci with a great dummy overtake and then went around Hirsiger into turn one to assume second.

The Australian then reeled in the race leader, before passing the Dane round the outside in the closing stages of the race.

With Sorensen and Hirsiger completing the podium, Boccolacci had to settle for fourth. Series returnee Amaury Richard finished fifth, while Russian duo of Denis Bulatov and Vladimir Atoev followed suit in sixth and seventh.

The top ten was completed by Paul Hokfelt, Bryan Elpitiya and Valentin Hasse-Clot.

Race result
Pos. Name Time/Gap
1 Joseph Mawson 12 laps in 23:11.639
2 Lasse Sorensen +1.381
3 Felix Hirsiger +3.664
4 Dorian Boccolacci +7.801
5 Amaury Richard +7.958
6 Denis Bulatov +9.873
7 Vladimir Atoev +12.339
8 Paul Hokfelt Jr +12.861
9 Bryan Elpitiya +13.969
10 Valentin Hasse-Clot +17.661
11 Niclas Nylund +18.065
12 Erwan Jule +19.540
13 David Droux +21.749
14 Gjergj Haxhiu +25.414
15 Simo Laaksonen +27.770
16 Reuben Kressner +28.224
17 Juan Manuel Jimenez +35.441
18 Tom Soubiron +38.340
19 Axel Matus +38.808
20 Joao Carvalho +40.201
21 Hugo Sugnot-Darniche +1:15.072
22 Anouck Abadie +1:28.971