Home Formula 4French F4 Mawson victorious in first French F4 race

Mawson victorious in first French F4 race

by Gruz David
Photo: Eric Vargiolu / DPPI

Photo: Eric Vargiolu / DPPI

Australian Joseph Mawson took victory in his maiden single-seater race in the French F4 opener at Le Mans.

Mawson kept his first place after starting from pole position and, after managing to keep a charging Lasse Sorensen at bay during the opening laps, spent the second half of the race untroubled in the lead.

Sorensen had to settle for second, having lost two seconds because of a mistake and not managing to to get close to Mawson later on.

The last spot on the podium was the subject of an intense battle during the last couple of laps. Lotus junior Dorian Boccolacci, who started from ninth, fought his way up to third in three laps, but he would then have to defend from Amaury Richard and Vladimir Atoev in the closing stages. He succeeded and managed to mark his first race in single-seaters with a podium finish.

Felix Hirsiger had to settle for sixth after a weak start from second, closely followed by Paul Hokfelt Jr, who impressively picked up sixteen positions during the race. Karting graduate trio Erwan Jule, Reuben Kressner and Bryan Elpitiya completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Name Time/Gap
1 Joseph Mawson 11 laps in 20:47.126
2 Lasse Sorensen +3.136
3 Dorian Boccolacci +6.093
4 Amaury Richard +6.511
5 Vladimir Atoev +6.970
6 Felix Hirsiger +12.694
7 Paul Hokfelt Jr +13.700
8 Erwan Jule +18.881
9 Reuben Kressner +19.489
10 Bryan Elpitiya +23.409
11 Gjergj Haxhiu +25.458
12 Simo Laaksonen +26.512
13 Valentin Hasse-Clot +27.248
14 Niclas Nylund +27.693
15 David Droux +27.984
16 Valentin Moineault +32.092
17 Tom Soubiron +36.150
18 Denis Bulatov +36.812
19 Axel Matus 44.982
20 Juan Manuel Jimenez +46.197
21 Joao Carvalho +1:02.991
22 Hugo Sugnot-Darniche +1:54.721
Not classified
Anouck Abadie +7 laps