Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6FR1.6 NEC Martin Rump victorious in first FR1.6 NEC race at Assen

Martin Rump victorious in first FR1.6 NEC race at Assen

by Gruz David

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Estonian Martin Rump took his second victory in the newly-established Formula Renault 1.6 NEC championship after getting ahead of polesitter Roy Geerts on lap one and keeping him at bay for the remainder of the race.

16-year-old Swedish driver Lukas Sundahl secured his first series podium yet found himself unable to match the pace of Rump and Geerts, finishing six seconds behind them.

Paul Blomqvist followed up his two podiums from round one with a fourth-place finish, while Pontus Fredricsson and Larry ten Voorde completed the top six.

Wouter Boerekamps was seventh, ahead of Joel Affolter and Janneau Esmeijer, who ran among the leaders early on but encountered trouble as the race went on, sliding down to ninth. Oliver Soderstrom completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos Driver Time/Gap
1 Martin Rump 12 laps in 21:34.128
2 Roy Geerts +0.676
3 Lukas Sundahl +6.651
4 Paul Blomqvist +12.975
5 Pontus Fredricsson +14.712
6 Larry ten Voorde +15.128
7 Wouter Boerekamps +16.731
8 Joel Affolter +22.467
9 Janneau Esmeijer +29.498
10 Oliver Soderstrom +31.474
11 Tommy van Erp +38.759
12 Otto Tjader +55.789
Not classified
DNF Yaro Deckers +7 Laps