Home News Magnussen wraps up stellar Catalunya double

Magnussen wraps up stellar Catalunya double

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Renault Sport

Photo: Renault Sport

Kevin Magnussen, who was officially crowned champion yesterday, took another Formula Renault 3.5 victory, reigning supreme in the final race of the season at Catalunya.

The Dane held on to the lead off the start, but would come under some pressure over the next few laps with Stoffel Vandoorne, Arthur Pic and Nico Muller all remaining within two seconds off the leader.

He opted to stop on the next lap after Muller’s visit to the pits and rejoined safely ahead of the Swiss driver. Vandoorne would follow suit soon, his strategy not paying off as he lost out to Magnussen and was now under pressure from early-stopper Will Stevens.

AV Formula’s Pic remained a source of intrigue for another few laps, as the Spaniard was leaving his stop rather late, while lapping on-pace with Magnussen. However, he endured a slow visit to the pits and came out with a badly-attached wheel, which immediately forced him to pull over in the gravel.

As such, Magnussen was allowed to cruise to victory, which he did, building up his advantage over Vandoorne to nine seconds in the late stages of the race. The Belgian finished off his rookie season with a fine second place, which secured him the runner-up spot in the championship, whilst Stevens came home in third.

Muller took fourth, ahead of Norman Nato, who prevailed in a race-long fight against sixth-placed Carlos Sainz, Jr. A great late-stop strategy from Lotus allowed both its drivers to make the top ten, with Marco Sorensen taking seventh and Marlon Stockinger coming home in ninth, narrowly behind Nigel Melker. Oliver Webb rounded out the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Kevin Magnussen DAMS 29 laps in 45:52.547
2 Stoffel Vandoorne Fortec Motorsports +8.962
3 Will Stevens P1 by Strakka Racing +12.097
4 Nico Muller International Draco Racing +20.437
5 Norman Nato DAMS +22.274
6 Carlos Sainz, Jr. Zeta Corse +23.171
7 Marco Sorensen Lotus +23.515
8 Nigel Melker Tech 1 Racing +31.579
9 Marlon Stockinger Lotus +32.027
10 Oliver Webb Fortec Motorsports +32.649
11 Christopher Zanella ISR +35.790
12 Zoel Amberg Pons Racing +36.323
13 Antonio Felix da Costa Arden Caterham +36.931
14 Mikhail Aleshin Tech 1 Racing +50.512
15 Lucas Foresti SMP Racing by Comtec +51.006
16 Matias Laine P1 by Strakka Racing +52.293
17 Nikolay Martsenko Pons Racing +52.785
18 Carlos Huertas Carlin +1:01.264
19 Yann Cunha AV Formula +1:32.855
20 Pietro Fantin Arden Caterham +1 lap
Not classified
William Buller Zeta Corse +9 laps
Andre Negrao International Draco Racing +12 laps
Arthur Pic AV Formula +17 laps
Daniil Move SMP Racing by Comtec +17 laps
Sergey Sirotkin ISR +26 laps
DNS Jazeman Jaafar Carlin