Home News Magnussen takes 3.5 title with sublime Catalunya win

Magnussen takes 3.5 title with sublime Catalunya win

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Kevin Magnussen

Photo: Renault Sport/DPPI

McLaren junior Kevin Magnussen has sealed the Formula Renault 3.5 2013 championship with a win in the penultimate race of the season at Catalunya.

The Dane maintained his lead off the line and then held on to it after the restart, which took place after a 15-minute safety car period.

The safety vehicle emerged on-track during the opening lap, following a series of collisions in the first few corners, including one where Nigel Melker ended up tipping Marco Sorensen‘s car over. The raggedness of the drivers would echo later on in the race as well, when Nikolay Martsenko lost the car during an overtaking attempt, ending the day for Mikhail Aleshin and Christopher Zanella.

Following the restart, Magnussen led the remainder of the race, albeit coming under some pressure from an on-pace Will Stevens. The Briton got especially close to first when the DAMS driver ran wide in the closing stages, but the intrigue was short-lived, as Magnussen controlled the race from that point on.

With Stevens taking second, Stoffel Vandoorne picked up the final podium spot. Antonio Felix da Costa took fouth, overtaking Will Buller during the last laps after a race-long battle.

Benefiting from numerous retirements, Zoel Amberg took his career-best finish in the series with sixth place. The same milestone was achieved by Matias Laine, who crossed the line in seventh.

Daniil Move, Pietro Fantin and Oliver Webb rounded out the top ten.

Update: Nikolay Martsenko will receive a two-place grid penalty for tomorrow’s race.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Kevin Magnussen DAMS 27 laps in 46:32.366
2 Will Stevens P1 by Strakka Racing +0.849
3 Stoffel Vandoorne Fortec Motorsports +11.582
4 Antonio Felix da Costa Arden Caterham +23.899
5 William Buller Zeta Corse +29.431
6 Zoel Amberg Pons Racing +30.196
7 Matias Laine P1 by Strakka Racing +33.363
8 Daniil Move SMP Racing by Comtec +37.209
9 Pietro Fantin Arden Caterham +42.491
10 Oliver Webb Fortec Motorsports +43.543
11 Lucas Foresti SMP Racing by Comtec +46.306
12 Nico Muller International Draco Racing +1:14.850
13 Nikolay Martsenko Pons Racing +2 laps
Not classified
Mikhail Aleshin Tech 1 Racing +4 laps
Christopher Zanella ISR +4 laps
Sergey Sirotkin ISR +13 laps
Arthur Pic AV Formula +15 laps
Andre Negrao International Draco Racing +18 laps
Carlos Sainz, Jr. Zeta Corse +25 laps
Nigel Melker Tech 1 Racing +27 laps
Marco Sorensen Lotus +27 laps
Marlon Stockinger Lotus +27 laps
Carlos Huertas Carlin +27 laps
Norman Nato DAMS +27 laps
Yann Cunha AV Formula +27 laps
DNS Jazeman Jaafar Carlin