Home Z - Archive seriesGerman F3 Kirchhofer takes race three at Sachsenring

Kirchhofer takes race three at Sachsenring

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: formel3.de

Marvin Kirchhofer was yet again the man of the hour in German F3, taking a commandeering victory in race three of the Sachsenring round on Sunday.

Kirchhofer started the race from pole and got away cleanly, managing to build up a bit of a gap. That gap suddenly turned massive when the German started pushing on lap five and, by the end, was a very impressive twelve seconds to second-place.

Kirchhofer’s teammate and closest rival in the standings Artem Markelov recorded his eighth second-place finish of the season despite a mistake that saw him lose a bit of time in the gravel. Van Amersfoort’s Gustavo Menezes drove a good race to come in third, ahead of ADM’s Matteo Cairoli.

It was Trophy class winner Sebastian Balthasar who came next, finalizing what was a stunning round for the German. Nabil Jeffri was sixth after an early mistake, while Lotus frontrunner Emil Bernstorff was tenth, having had a collision with Performance Racing’s Thomas Jager on lap one. Swede John Bryant-Meisner was another retiree, closing out a weekend to forget with a trip to the gravel.

In the standings, Kirchhofer leads Markelov by 68 points, with Bernstorff a further 20 behind. The Trophy leader Balthasar is closely followed by Freddy Killensberger and Hubertus-Carlos Vier in the class standings.

Race results
Pos. Driver Cl. Team Time/Gap
1 Marvin Kirchhofer C Lotus 23 laps in 30:28.723
2 Artem Markelov C Lotus +12.725
3 Gustavo Menezes C Van Amersfoort +18.922
4 Matteo Cairoli C ADM Motorsport +42.674
5 Sebastian Balthasar T GU-Racing +1:00.675
6 Nabil Jeffri C EuroInternational +1:09.079
7 Hubertus-Carlos Vier T TTC Motorsport +1:12.810
8 Freddy Killensberger T GU-Racing +1:13.673
9 Maximilian Hackl T Frank Woss Racing +1 lap
10 Emil Bernstorff C Lotus +1 lap
11 Sheban Siddiqi C Lotus +1 lap
12 Luca Iannaccone T Aberer Motorsport +2 laps
13 Andreas Germann T CR Racing Team +2 laps
Not classified
John Bryant-Meisner C Performance Racing +11 laps
Thomas Jager C Performance Racing +23 laps
Jordi Weckx C Van Amersfoort +23 laps