Home Z - Archive seriesGerman F3 Kirchhofer takes race one win at Spa-Francorchamps

Kirchhofer takes race one win at Spa-Francorchamps

by Stephen Goddard

Photo: formel3.de

Marvin Kirchhofer took his third win of the season in the ATS Formel 3 Cup at Spa-Francorchamps this morning.

The German made a good start and was followed into the first corner by Emil Bernstorff. The German then pulled away from his teammate who was being chased by John Bryant-Meisner and Gustavo Menezes.

The battled raged on for second for several laps with Bryant-Meisner eventually slip streaming his way past on the run up Les Combes. The American followed suit and relegated Bernstorff to fourth place and that is how it would remain.

Rounding out the top ten was Lotus driver Artem Markelov, Malaysian Nabil Jeffri, local man Jordi Weckx, ADM Motorsport?s Tomasz Krzeminski and Trophy class winner Freddy Killensberger.

The only major incident of the race was a first corner accident that eliminated Matteo Cairoli and Thomas Jager.

Race two is the afternoon at 17:35 (CEST) with Van Amersfoort Racing?s Weckx on pole position.

Race results
Pos. Driver Cl. Team Time/Gap
1 Marvin Kirchhofer C Lotus 14 laps in 31:41.301
2 John Bryant-Meisner C Performance Racing 3.180
3 Gustavo Menezes C Van Amersfoort 7.191
4 Emil Bernstorff C Lotus 8.746
5 Yannick Mettler C Performance Racing 9.682
6 Artem Markelov C Lotus 15.230
7 Nabil Jeffri C EuroInternational 28.559
8 Jordi Weckx C Van Amersfoort 37.983
9 Tomasz Krzeminski C ADM Motorsport 42.556
10 Freddy Killensberger T GU-Racing 1:03.648
11 Sheban Siddiqi C Lotus 1:19.101
12 Sebastian Balthasar T GU-Racing 1:20.658
13 Maximilian Hackl T Frank Woss Racing 1:27.230
14 Christian Zeller T CR Racing Team 2:16.111
15 Thomas Warken T CR Racing Team +1 lap
16 Hubertus-Carlos Vier T TTC Motorsport +3 laps
Not classified
Andreas Germann T CR Racing Team +10 laps
Thomas Jager C Performance Racing +14 laps
Luca Iannaccone T Aberer Motorsport +14 laps
Matteo Cairoli C ADM Motorsport +14 laps