Home Formula 3Euroformula Jones triumphs in second Portimao race

Jones triumphs in second Portimao race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: FOTOSPEEDY/f3open.net

Ed Jones secured his maiden F3 Open win on his first weekend as a series regular, taking victory in race two at Portimao.

While Hector Hurst managed to keep the lead off the start, it was Jones who took the lead on lap two and kept it throughout the rest of the race. Uruguayan Santiago Urrutia added a second place? to his earlier win, while Sandy Stuvik completed the podium.

Hurst only managed fourth, ahead of Alexandre Cougnaud and Mario Marasca. Valeria Carballo finished seventh, ahead of Alex Toril, who fought from the back of the grid after colliding with Nelson Mason in qualifying, as Mason himself only managed 16th.

Vicky Piria was ninth, while French driver Mattia Vita completed the points. In 12th, Richard Gonda took another victory in the Copa class.

After two rounds, Stuvik leads the championship, having finished no lower than fourth in all the races.

Race results
Pos. Driver Car Team Time/Gap
1 Edward Jones F312 Team West-Tec 16 laps in 27:29.233
2 Santiago Urrutia F312 RP Motorsport +1.360
3 Sandy Stuvik F312 RP Motorsport +2.412
4 Hector Hurst F312 EmillioDeVillota +6.740
5 Alexandre Cougnaud F312 RP Motorsport +8.540
6 Mario Marasca F312 BVM +10.783
7 Valeria Carballo F312 Campos Racing +17.796
8 Alexander Toril F312 RP Motorsport +20.836
9 Vicky Piria F312 BVM +22.783
10 Mattia Vita F312 Top F3 +26.308
11 Roberto La Rocca F312 Team West-Tec +26.488
12 Richard Gonda F308 Drivex School +27.102
13 Tommaso Menchini F308 Corbetta Compeitizoni +27.564
14 Lorenzo Paggi F308 Corbetta Compeitizoni +30.225
15 Igor Urien F308 EmillioDeVillota +35.386
16 Nelson Mason F312 Team West-Tec +35.414
17 Artur Janosz F312 Campos Racing +44.539
18 Gerardo Nieto F308 DAV Racing +46.816
19 Damiano Fioravanti F308 Corbetta Compeitizoni +47.574
20 Yarin Stern F312 EmillioDeVillota +49.140
21 Cameron Twynham F308 Team West-Tec +51.289
22 Che One Lim F308 EmillioDeVillota +57.389
23 Saud Al-Faisal F308 RP Motorsport +1:06.595
24 Luca Orlandi F312 Team West-Tec +1:10.010
25 Nicolas Pohler F308 DAV Racing +1:13.334
26 Sean Walkinshaw F308 Team West-Tec +1 lap
27 Alexey Chuklin F312 EmillioDeVillota +1 lap
28 Liam Venter F308 Team West-Tec +1 lap
Not classified
Huan Zhu F308 Team West-Tec +11 laps
Denis Nagulin F312 Campos Racing +14 laps
Andres Saravia F312 EmillioDeVillota +16 laps