Home Formula 3Euroformula Jones gets closer to title with Catalunya race one victory

Jones gets closer to title with Catalunya race one victory

by Gruz David


After taking pole earlier in the day, Ed Jones continued to be untouchable at Catalunya as he clinched his sixth race victory of the season.

The West-Tec driver kept the lead after the start and built a four-second gap throughout the race. The advantage then mostly disappeared in the last couple of laps, as Jones came under some pressure from the charging Santiago Urrutia, but his victory was never in realistic danger.

Urrutia collected his seventh podium finish, having snatched second off the start. The podium was completed by Alexandre Cougnaud,?who passed teammate Alex Toril mid-race, with the Spaniard settling for fourth.

Sandy Stuvik finished a frustrating race, fighting through the pack to eventually end up fifth. FIA European F3 regular Tatiana Calderon finished sixth, closely followed by hher teammate Yarin Stern. Valeria Carballo, Mario Marasca and Hector Hurst rounded out the top ten.

Nelson Mason was the high profile retirement of the race, as he had to call it a day due to mechanical problems.

In Copa class, Tommaso Menchini secured his third victory, with Igor Urien taking second. Richard Gonda finished third and clinched the championship trophy with one race to spare.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Ed Jones Team West-Tec 17 laps
2 Santiago Urrutia RP Motorsport +0.963
3 Alexandre Cougnaud RP Motorsport +3.207
4 Alex Toril RP Motorsport +8.744
5 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport +10.044
6 Tatiana Calderon EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +12.117
7 Yarin Stern EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +12.589
8 Valeria Carballo Campos Racing +25.148
9 Mario Marasca BVM Racing +26.577
10 Hector Hurst EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +29.506
11 Tommaso Menchini Corbetta Competizioni +29.989
12 Denis Nagulin Campos Racing +30.631
13 Igor Urien EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +35.908
14 Richard Gonda Drivex School +38.104
15 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec +38.883
16 Artur Janosz Campos Racing +42.981
17 Nicolas Pohler DAV Racing +44.549
18 Huan Zhu Team West-Tec +47.401
19 Andres Saravia EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +50.640
20 Che One Lim EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +51.234
21 Constantino Peroni RP Motorsport +1:02.620
22 Christopher Hoeher Team West-Tec +1:05.211
23 Saud Al-Faisal RP Motorsport +1:07.816
24 William Barbosa Corbetta Competizioni +1:09.219
Not classified
Vicky Piria BVM Racing +3 laps
Nelson Mason Team West-Tec +5 laps
Damiano Fioravanti Corbetta Competizioni +6 laps
Alexey Chuklin EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +17 laps
Sean Walkinshaw Team West-Tec +17 laps
Gerardo Nieto DAV Racing +17 laps