Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Joel Eriksson eases to race one win at Spa-Francorchamps

Joel Eriksson eases to race one win at Spa-Francorchamps

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Foto: Gruppe C GmbH / ADAC F4

Photo: Gruppe C GmbH / ADAC F4

ADAC F4 championship leader Joel Eriksson took his third win in the last four races, controlling the Spa opener from pole.

Eriksson survived two restarts to lead every lap as he denied Ferrari junior Guan Yu Zhou.

It was Robert Shwartzman who initially started second and kept position over the opening stint of the race.

But, shortly after a crash between Jonathan Cecotto and championship contender Marvin Dienst, Zhou passed Shwartzman, with Eriksson already three seconds in the clear.

That lead was gone when Cedric Piro squeezed Nikolaj Rogivue into the wall into Eau Rouge, bringing out the safety car.

However, Eriksson bossed the restart, taking about half a second per lap out of Zhou.

Behind them, Ralf Aron had overtaken Shwartzman, only for the Russian to retake his spot shortly thereafter. Shwartzman’s teammate Lando Norris, making his ADAC F4 debut, then also worked his way around Aron.

Just then, Harri Newey went off at Les Combes from ninth and appeared to have triggered the fire extinguisher in his car, which forced the Briton to abandon the race.

Another brief safety car stoppage left just one final green flag lap when the race restart.

And Eriksson did just enough to keep his win, pulling out enough of a gap to avoid losing out on the slipstream and taking the checkered flag in first

Zhou claimed second, ahead of Shwartzman and Norris.

Joseph Mawson passed Aron on the final lap to take fifth, while David Beckmann, Janneau Esmeijer and Giorgio Maggi followed the Estonian over the line.

Mick Schumacher, Marek Bockmann and Tim Zimmermann, who had started P32, were all in contention for the crucial tenth spot and reverse-grid pole for race three.

But, as they fought, it was Motopark’s Michael Waldherr who snuck through to take the final point.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Joel Eriksson Motopark 11 laps in 31:11.141
2 Guan Yu Zhou Prema Powerteam +0.670
3 Robert Schwartzman Mucke Motorsport +1.547
4 Lando Norris Mucke Motorsport +2.091
5 Joseph Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing +2.671
6 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam +3.267
7 David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport +3.498
8 Janneau Esmeijer HTP Junior Team +3.825
9 Giorgio Maggi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +5.810
10 Michael Waldherr Motopark +6.485
11 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +6.659
12 Florian Janits Lechner Racing +7.500
13 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +8.109
14 Kim-Luis Schramm Neuhauser Racing +8.502
15 Mick Schumacher Van Amersfoort Racing +8.891
16 Job van Uitert Privateer +9.147
17 Glenn Rupp RS Competition +9.893
18 Jonathan Cecotto Motopark +10.182
19 Alain Valente Race Performance +10.853
20 Arlind Hoti Jenzer Motorsport +11.617
21 Jannes Fittje Motopark +12.638
22 Jason Kremer Team Timo Scheider +14.111
23 Benjamin Mazatis Mucke Motorsport +14.202
24 Moritz Muller-Crepon Jenzer Motorsport +14.543
25 Luca Engstler Engstler Motorsport +15.160
26 David Kolkmann Jenzer Motorsport +15.575
27 Toni Wolff Piro Sports +15.735
28 Robin Brezina Privateer +16.111
29 Mauro Auricchio Team Timo Scheider +16.324
30 Carrie Schreiner HTP Junior Team +16.696
31 Michelle Halder Privateer +19.455
32 Marylin Niederhauser Race Performance +20.280
Not classified
Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing +3 laps
Mike Ortmann Mucke Motorsport +5 laps
Jan Jonck RS Competition +5 laps
Nikolaj Rogivue SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +9 laps
Cedric Piro Piro Sports +9 laps
Marvin Dienst HTP Junior Team +11 laps