Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Jensen takes bizarre victory in race one at Zandvoort

Jensen takes bizarre victory in race one at Zandvoort

by Stephen Goddard
Mikkel Jensen

Photo: ADAC

Danish driver Mikkel Jensen increased his lead at the top of the ADAC Formel Masters standings by taking victory in a bizarre race one in tricky conditions at Zandvoort on Saturday afternoon.

The race was interrupted early on after an incident that took out several drivers including pole sitter Maximilian Gunther. The clock continued to run while crews worked on removing the stricken cars.

This left us with a mad four-lap race to the line in which Jensen outran Neuhauser Racing teammate Tim Zimmermann to take his second win of the season.

Mucke?s Kim-Luis Schramm came home third to pick up his first podium of the year ahead of Ralph Boschung and Marvin Dienst.

Lotus driver Dennis Marschall finished sixth, with Philip Hamprecht, Igor Walilko and David Kolkmann rounding out the finishers.

Race two kicks off on Sunday morning at 9:55 local time with Gunther on pole from Jensen.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Mikkel Jensen Neuhauser Racing 4 laps in 22:27.145
2 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +0.810
3 Kim-Luis Schramm ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg +3.165
4 Ralph Boschung Lotus +4.991
5 Marvin Dienst ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg +6.585
6 Dennis Marschall Lotus +8.283
7 Philip Hamprecht ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg +10.436
8 Igor Walilko JBR Motorsport & Engineering +13.263
9 David Kolkmann JBR Motorsport & Engineering +14.714
Not classified
Maximilian Gunther ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg +4 laps
Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport +4 laps
Joel Eriksson Lotus +4 laps
Nico Menzel Schiller Motorsport +4 laps
Giorgio Maggi ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg +4 laps