Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China James Munro takes sixth win on the trot

James Munro takes sixth win on the trot

by Aditya Banerjee
Wells Munro Solomon

Photo: Formula Masters China

KCMG driver James Munro kept his indomitable 100 percent record alive in the 2014 Formula Masters China season by taking his sixth straight win in the first race of the weekend at Inje.

The 17-year-old Kiwi started the race in second place, but managed to pass polesitter Matthew Solomon of Eurasia Motorsport off the line and was never headed thereafter, winning by over three seconds.

The safety car was called out on the first lap after an incident between another KCMG driver Matthew Swanepoel and Eurasia’s Yuan Bo, with both drivers retiring on the spot. At the restart, Munro’s teammate Dan Wells managed to pass Solomon for second around the outside of the first sequence of corners.

Solomon managed to stay with Wells for the remainder of the race, and got within half a second of the Briton, but a late spin for Zen driver Bao Jin Long brought out the red flags on the penultimate lap, ending the battle for second.

Meanwhile, Meco Motorsport’s Akhil Rabindra also had a strong restart, moving up to fourth and keeping the position to the chequered flag, thus taking his best result?of the season so far. Humpuss driver Darma Hutomo also recorded his best finish, coming home in fifth place.

Hutomo’s teammate Senna Iriawan held on to sixth, just ahead of Ronald Wu, Pu Jun Jin and Andersen Martono, with Martono’s Meritus stablemate Mandla Mdakane rounding out the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 James Munro KCMG 10 laps in 19:50.108
2 Dan Wells KCMG +3.066
3 Matthew Solomon Eurasia Motorsport +3.407
4 Akhil Rabindra Meco Motorsports +7.096
5 Darma Hutomo Humpuss Junior Racing Team +13.793
6 Yasuo Senna Iriawan Humpuss Junior Racing Team +19.613
7 Ronald Wu Zen Motorsport +20.532
8 Pu Jun Jin Eurasia Motorsport +21.237
9 Andersen Martono Meritus GP +21.972
10 Mandla Mdakane Meritus GP +33.355
11 Yin Hai Tao Zen Motorsport +34.018
12 Hua Miao Zen Motorsport +40.149
13 Bao Jin Long Zen Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
Yuan Bo Eurasia Motorsport +10 laps
Matthew Swanepoel KCMG +10 laps