Home News Jake Eidson doubles up at St. Pete

Jake Eidson doubles up at St. Pete

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Andersen Promotions

Photo: Andersen Promotions

Colorado’s Jake Eidson completed a sweep of USF2000 2015 season’s opening weekend at St. Petersburg with a second victory.

In spite of considerable pressure from Aaron Telitz, Eidson led the race lights-to-flag, picking up sixth win in USF2000 machinery.

It was a clear start for the 16-car field, with Afterburner’s Victor Franzoni moving up two places to fourth during the opening lap, only to slow down and retire with an engine issue.

Telitz, running in second, briefly closed in on Eidson on lap five, but dropped back, allowing the Pabst Racing driver to pull clear.

However, Eidson’s efforts to build a gap were for naught as, a few laps later, Parker Thompson and Garth Rickards made contact, resulting in a heavy shunt into the wall for the latter and a subsequent full-course yellow.

A lengthy clean-up period followed and, when the race got back under green, there were only six minutes left on the clock.

Telitz kept up with Eidson over the restart, but couldn’t try a move as his Cape teammate and Winterfest champion Nico Jamin nearly stole second.

The top three eventually settled back into position but, over the very last laps, Telitz began to reel Eidson back in. With 0.7s between them, the Pabst Racing driver had a brief moment, allowing Telitz to get right on his rear wing, but Eidson held on until the checkered flag.

Third place for Jamin meant an exact repeat of the podium from yesterday’s opener.

John Cummiskey Racing’s Jordan Lloyd ran in fourth for most of the race, but surrendered his spot to teammate Anthony Martin with two laps to go.

Thompson, whose car emerged largely unscathed from the caution-causing collision, took sixth, while Keyvan Andres Soori held off Pelfrey drivers Nikita Lastochkin and Luke Gabin for seventh.

Another Team Pelfrey debutant Ayla Agren completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Jake Eidson Pabst Racing 20 laps in 31:12.826
2 Aaron Telitz Cape Motorsports w/WTR +0.404
3 Nico Jamin Cape Motorsports w/WTR +1.954
4 Anthony Martin John Cummiskey Racing +4.722
5 Jordan Lloyd John Cummiskey Racing +5.427
6 Parker Thompson JDC MotorSports +7.742
7 Keyvan Andres Soori ArmsUp Motorsports +12.299
8 Nikita Lastochkin Team Pelfrey +12.681
9 Luke Gabin Team Pelfrey +13.247
10 Ayla Agren Team Pelfrey +16.062
11 Max Hanratty ArmsUp Motorsports +17.104
12 Andrew List D2D Motorsports +23.361
13 James Dayson ArmsUp Motorsports +32.863
14 Yufeng Luo Pabst Racing +3 laps
15 Garth Rickards Team Pelfrey +13 laps
16 Victor Franzoni Afterburner Autosport +19 laps
DNS Augie Lerch JAY Motorsports