Home Z - Archive seriesGP3 Harvey wins second Monza race ahead of Kvyat

Harvey wins second Monza race ahead of Kvyat

by Peter Allen
Jack Harvey

Photo: Andrew Ferraro/GP3 Media Service

Jack Harvey scooped his second win of the GP3 campaign as he led race two in Monza from lights-to-flag.

Lewis Williamson closed to within 0.6 seconds with three laps to go after Harvey ran wide exiting the second chicane, but Williamson then made an error and fell into the clutches of Saturday winner Daniil Kvyat who came through to finish second from eighth on the grid.

Points leader Facu Regalia had got up into second place behind ART team-mate Harvey after an early safety car intervention but was passed by Williamson and later Kvyat. His fourth place finish keeps him at the top of the standings, with Kvyat now seven points behind ahead of the final round in Abu Dhabi in November.

Kevin Korjus was fifth ahead of Alexander Sims and Melville McKee, while Conor Daly claimed eighth place from Carlos Sainz on the last lap having started from the penultimate row after being forced into retirement in yesterday’s first corner incident.

There was more chaos at the start of race two, with pole-sitter Patric Niederhauser stalling and being collected by his unsighted Jenzer team-mate Alex Fontana. The contact sent debris into the air including a tyre, which was fortunately stopped from leaving the circuit by the high catch fencing.

There was some more carnage in the braking zone for the first chicane with Ryan Cullen clipping David Fumanelli and then helplessly taking out Giovanni Venturini.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jack Harvey ART Grand Prix 17 laps in 29:24.152
2 Daniil Kvyat MW Arden +0.915
3 Lewis Williamson Bamboo Engineering +1.559
4 Facu Regalia ART Grand Prix +3.144
5 Kevin Korjus Koiranen GP +4.691
6 Alexander Sims Carlin +5.332
7 Melville McKee Bamboo Engineering +6.742
8 Conor Daly ART Grand Prix +7.466
9 Carlos Sainz MW Arden +8.000
10 Robert Visoiu MW Arden +13.426
11 Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing +13.673
12 Patrick Kujala Koiranen GP +17.479
13 Aaro Vainio Koiranen GP +17.896
14 Emanuele Zonzini Trident +21.467
15 Samin Gomez Jenzer Motorsport +38.077
16 Josh Webster Status Grand Prix +42.320
17 Carmen Jorda Bamboo Engineering +49.997
18 David Fumanelli Trident +1:19.459
19 Luis Sa Silva Carlin +1 lap
20 Adderly Fong Status Grand Prix +2 laps
Not classified
Nick Yelloly Carlin 2 laps
Jimmy Eriksson Status Grand Prix 2 laps
Ryan Cullen Marussia Manor Racing 0 laps
Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 0 laps
Giovanni Venturini Trident 0 laps
Alex Fontana Jenzer Motorsport 0 laps