Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Harrison Newey adds ADAC F4 to his 2015 programme

Harrison Newey adds ADAC F4 to his 2015 programme

by Gruz David
Harri Newey

Photo: BRDC F4

Harrison Newey will race in the newly-established ADAC F4 championship with Van Amersfoort Racing.

Newey will combine the German series this year with BRDC F4, which he was previously confirmed to enter with HHC Motorsport.

It means the son of F1 designer Adrian Newey will be team-mates with Mick Schumacher, the son of Michael.

The 16-year-old Briton had his first taste in cars at the end of last year, participating in the final French F4 weekend of the season at Paul Ricard with a best result was ninth.

He then raced in one round of the BRDC F4 Winter Series at Snetterton where he finished all four of his races in the top six.

?I am very happy to be racing for Van Amersfoort Racing this season,” said Newey.

“The team did very well in recent years and I am looking forward to working with them. The circuits are all new to me, so that will be a huge challenge, but there is a good simulator at Van Amersfoort Racing, so that will surely help. I am really looking forward to the season and I can hardly await the first time I will be in the car.”

“This has been one of the most pleasant weeks in our four-decade history,” added team boss Frits van Amersfoort, team boss.

“We’re extremely honoured to have some of racing’s most credible people choosing to entrust our team in the development of two promising young talents. We see their confidence as a unique challenge that everyone at Van Amersfoort Racing is ready to take up with dedication and driven by a sincere desire to help the drivers fulfil their dreams.?

Due to his BRDC F4 commitments in Britain, Newey will miss two rounds of the ADAC season; Red Bull Ring on 6-7 June and Oschersleben on 12-13 September, clashing with trips to Rockingham and Donington respectively.

2015 ADAC F4 line-up so far
Team Drivers
Neuhauser Racing Tim Zimmermann, Kim-Luis Schramm
Mucke Motorsport Benjamin Mazatis, Mike Ortmann, David Beckmann, Robert Schwartzman
Motopark Joel Eriksson, Jannes Fittje
Jenzer Motorsport Marek Bockmann, David Kolkmann, Moritz Muller-Crepon
Piro Sports Cedric Piro, Toni Wolf, Carrie Schreiner
Team Scheider Mauro Auricchio, Leon Wippersteg
Race Performance Alain Valente, Marylin Niederhauser
Van Amersfoort Racing Mick Schumacher, Harrison Newey