Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Gunther takes lights-to-flag win in second Zandvoort race

Gunther takes lights-to-flag win in second Zandvoort race

by Peter Allen

Photo: ADAC

Maximilian Gunther rebounded from crashing out at the start of the first ADAC Formel Masters race at Zandvoort by leading race two from start to finish.

On a wet track, he opened up a six second lead over the opposition but that advantage was eradicated by a safety car triggered by Nico Menzel.

He retained the lead at the restart, before the the safety car returned to the track at the finish.

Fabian Schiller dropped from third on the grid to fourth behind Ralph Boschung, but fought back to pass both Boschung and then championship leader Mikkel Jensen. Jensen was relegated to fourth by the finish by Boschung.

Marvin Dienst passed Tim Zimmermann to take fifth, with Kim-Luis Schramm seventh ahead of Philip Hamprecht. Dennis Marschall and Igor Walilko completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 12 laps in 26:42.613
2 Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport +0.664
3 Ralph Boschung Lotus +1.430
4 Mikkel Jensen Neuhauser Racing +1.618
5 Marvin Dienst Mucke Motorsport +2.284
6 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +3.527
7 Kim-Luis Schramm Mucke Motorsport +4.337
8 Philip Hamprecht Mucke Motorsport +4.462
9 Dennis Marschall Lotus +5.130
10 Igor Walilko JBR Motorsport & Engineering +5.757
11 David Kolkmann JBR Motorsport & Engineering +6.654
12 Giorgio Maggi Mucke Motorsport +7.698
13 Joel Eriksson Lotus +3 laps
Not classified
Nico Menzel Schiller Motorsport +7 laps