Home Formula 3GB3 George Russell in a class of his own in opening Oulton Park race

George Russell in a class of his own in opening Oulton Park race

by Peter Allen
George Russell

Photo: Paul Davies Photography

George Russell was untouchable as he claimed a dominant fourth win of the BRDC F4 season in race one at Oulton Park, finishing nine seconds clear of chief rival Raoul Hyman to extend his championship lead.

Starting from pole, Russell was able to quickly open up a comfortable margin as Hyman worried about those behind him, and continued to increase his gap on each lap.

Hyman first came under attack from HHC team-mate Will Palmer, until the double Snetterton winner fell to sixth on lap two when he ran through the Hislop’s chicane.

That put Chris Middlehurst onto the back of Hyman, but the reigning Protyre Formula Renault champion had to settle for third, three tenths of a second behind the South African.

Struan Moore climbed to fourth on lap two past Palmer and Sennan Fielding, and then set the fastest lap as he caught the Hyman-Middlehurst scrap.

Fielding and Palmer completed the top six, with Arjun Maini seventh. Tom Jackson and Gustavo Lima both gained a place to finish eighth and ninth respectively, with Diego Menchaca tenth. Jackson will start race two from the reverse grid pole position.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 George Russell Lanan Racing 12 laps in 19:57.406
2 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +9.143
3 Chris Middlehurst Mark Godwin Racing +9.439
4 Struan Moore Lanan Racing +9.921
5 Sennan Fielding HHC Motorsport +10.969
6 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport +11.776
7 Arjun Maini Lanan Racing +12.734
8 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing +15.228
9 Gustavo Lima Hillspeed +20.701
10 Diego Menchaca Douglas Motorsport +23.059
11 Nicolas Beer Sean Walkinshaw Racing +23.637
12 Gaetano Di Mauro Petroball Racing +25.658
13 Alfredo Zabalza Hillspeed +27.645
14 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +27.904
15 Michael Claessens Mark Godwin Racing +37.694
16 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing +37.846
17 Tom Bale Chris Dittmann Racing +39.521
18 Charlie Eastwood Douglas Motorsport +1:01.248
19 Diego Borrelli Sean Walkinshaw Racing +1:04.047
20 Rodrigo Fonseca Douglas Motorsport +1 lap