Home Formula 3GB3 George Russell doubles up at Silverstone

George Russell doubles up at Silverstone

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography / BRDC F4

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography / BRDC F4

Lanan Racing’s George Russell immediately followed his first victory in cars with another one, converting sixth on the grid into first at the checkered flag in the final race of the BRDC F4 Silverstone opener.

The young karting graduate was third by the end of lap one and went on to assume the lead on lap three, cruising to the finish line from that point on.

Having set the fastest lap in the opening race, it was Sennan Fielding who had pole position with Nicolas Beer alongside him on the front row. The HHC man managed to keep the lead off the line, only to lose it over the opening lap and then subsequently spin out of second.

As such, Beer assumed first, but he would be shuffled down the order when overtaken by Russell for the lead on lap three.

With the front row starters both struggling, Diego Menchaca and Arjun Maini entered the top three early on. Neither of them would challenge Russell, yet Maini did pull off a successful overtake on Menchaca on lap five to establish a Lanan 1-2.

There were no further changes in the fight for the podium spots, as Russell took the win from Maini and Menchaca. Chris Middlehurst, reigning Protyre FR2.0 champion, recorded the best result of his weekend in fourth, while Struan Moore put on another fantastic drive from the back row of the grid to finish fifth.

Fielding originally crossed the line in fifth, but was subsequently excluded from the race for a collision with SWR’s Beer. As such, Will Palmer inherited sixth, ahead of Douglas duo of Charlie Eastwood and Rodrigo Fonseca.

Gustavo Lima took ninth while Raoul Hyman inherited P10 due to a post-race penalty for David Wagner.

Race result
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 George Russell Lanan Racing 10 laps in 21:26.172
2 Arjun Maini Lanan Racing +3.025
3 Diego Menchaca Douglas Motorsport +7.149
4 Chris Middlehurst Mark Godwin Racing +10.354
5 Struan Moore Lanan Racing +10.533
6 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport +15.602
7 Charlie Eastwood Douglas Motorsport +16.140
8 Rodrigo Fonseca Douglas Motorsport +18.887
9 Gustavo Lima Hillspeed +26.638
10 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +27.612
11 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +27.871
12 Gaetano Di Mauro PetroBall +31.455
13 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing +31.638
14 Dan Roeper PetroBall +33.324
15 David Wagner Mark Godwin Racing +26.959
16 Alfredo Zabalza Hillspeed +38.012
17 Diego Borrelli Sean Walkinshaw Racing +41.738
18 Michael Claessens Mark Godwin Racing +42.533
19 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing +52.816
20 Falco Wauer Enigma Motorsport +1:10.797
Not classified
Nicolas Beer Sean Walkinshaw Racing +7 laps
?DQ Sennan Fielding HHC Motorsport +11.02