Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Fuoco finishes second to Ghiotto, secures series title

Fuoco finishes second to Ghiotto, secures series title

by Valentin Khorounzhiy


Luca Ghiotto‘s fourth victory of the 2013 Formula Renault Alps season, achieved in race one at Imola, was not enough to postpone Antonio Fuoco‘s title celebrations.

The difficult weather conditions surrounding the race prompted the officials to start the event under safety car conditions. The green flag flew after two laps of running in formation and, while poleman Ghiotto safely maintained the lead, the other front row starter Fuoco came under pressure from Matt Parry, making slight contact with the Caterham junior yet managing to keep the position.

Despite the ever-present rain, the race stabilized at that point, with Fuoco quickly closing in on the race lead. The Ferrari junior was perhaps close enough to make a move, but didn’t wind up taking a risk, eventually settling into second.

As such, while the duo finished way ahead of the field, Ghiotto leading Fuoco by three seconds, Matt Parry held on to his first podium in the category on his debut weekend. Hans Villemi had a decent first showing for Prema, taking fourth, while Simon Gachet secured fifth.

Egor Orudzhev kept his teammate Luke Chudleigh at bay to finish fifth. Joffrey De Narda took eighth, with Andrew Tang in ninth. Konstantin Tereshchenko inherited a points finish in tenth after series race winner Bruno Bonifacio went off in the closing stages of the race.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam 13 laps in 28:06.049
2 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam +2.428
3 Matt Parry Koiranen GP +15.881
4 Hans Villemi SMP Racing by Koiranen +16.408
5 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +20.060
6 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +26.024
7 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing +27.044
8 Joffrey De Narda ARTA Engineering +35.424
9 Andrew Tang Jenzer Motorsport +43.833
10 Konstantin Tereshchenko Interwetten.com Racing +49.355
11 Dzhon Simonyan GSK Grand Prix +50.951
12 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing +51.691
13 Gregor Ramsay Euronova Racing +52.201
14 Semen Evstigneev SMP Racing by Koiranen +58.782
15 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport +1:01.051
16 Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport +1:02.845
17 Alex Bosak SMP Racing by Koiranen +1:15.041
18 Nikita Zlobin SMP Racing by Koiranen +1:24.498
19 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +1:28.856
20 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +1 lap
21 Daniele Cazzaniga Viola Formula Racing +1 lap
22 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing +1 lap
23 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing +3 laps
24 Francisco Mora Interwetten.com Racing +3 laps
25 Parth Ghorpade BVM Racing +4 laps
Not classified
Danyil Pronenko GSK Grand Prix +5 laps
Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport +6 laps
Tanart Sathienthirakul ARTA Engineering +7 laps
Championship standings
Pos. Driver Team Pts.
1 Antonio Fuoco Prema Junior 227
2 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam 185
3 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 145
4 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport 80
5 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing 72
6 Nyck de Vries Koiranen Motorsport 68
7 Hans Villemi SMP Racing by Koiranen 64
8 William Vermont ARTA Engineering 61
9 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 58
10 Guilherme Silva Koiranen Motorsport 43
11 Joffrey De Narda ARTA Engineering 36
12 Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport 35
13 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing 32
14 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 26
15 Konstantin Tereschenko Interwetten.com Racing 22
16 Simon Tirman ARTA Engineering 20
17 Matthieu Vaxiviere Tech 1 Racing 20
18 Gregor Ramsay Euronova Racing 18
19 Parth Ghorpade BVM Racing 16
20 Andrew Tang Jenzer Motorsport 16
21 Kevin Gilardoni GSK Grand Prix 16
22 Matt Parry Koiranen Motorsport 15
23 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing 11
24 Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport 10
25 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 8
26 Francisco Mora Interwetten.com Racing 5
27 Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport 4