Home News Eidson survives two restarts to win USF2000 opener

Eidson survives two restarts to win USF2000 opener

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Andersen Promotions

Photo: Andersen Promotions

Pabst Racing’s Jake Eidson converted his pole position into victory in the first race of the 2015 USF2000 season.

Eidson maintained his lead through two caution restarts in the carnage-filled 30-minute race, winning by a second over Aaron Telitz.

The first green flag period after the start lasted just a few seconds as Parker Thompson locked up into turn one, causing a pileup that took three other cars out of the race.

Anthony Martin made it up from fifth to third before the yellow flags but was swiftly passed by Nico Jamin when the race restarted ten minutes later.

Leader Eidson started to build up a gap over Telitz but was back to square one when an incident between Max Hanratty and Augie Lerch kicked off another full-course caution.

The track went back to green with just five minutes left on the clock and Eidson controlled the remainder of the race.

Telitz took second, ahead of Jamin and Martin.

Victor Franzoni charged his way from the back to the field, having been excluded from qualifying due to failing tech inspection. He eventually had to settle for sixth sixth as he could not find a way past Chinese rookie Yufeng Luo.

Ayla Agren snuck up to sixth during the opening lap carnage, but was passed by Franzoni, F1600 rival Garth Rickards and a recovering Jordan Lloyd, ending up ninth.

Nikita Lastochkin, Hanratty and Andrew List rounded out the list of finishers.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jake Eidson Pabst Racing 18 laps in 30:07.337
2 Aaron Telitz Cape Motorsports w/WTR +1.051
3 Nico Jamin Cape Motorsports w/WTR +2.057
4 Anthony Martin John Cummiskey Racing +4.130
5 Yufeng Luo Pabst Racing +6.035
6 Victor Franzoni Afterburner Autosport +6.446
7 Garth Rickards Team Pelfrey +7.877
8 Jordan Lloyd John Cummiskey Racing +8.406
9 Ayla Agren Team Pelfrey +12.308
10 Nikita Lastochkin Team Pelfrey +13.846
11 Max Hanratty ArmsUp Motorsports +21.156
12 Andrew List D2D Motorsports +21.677
13 Augie Lerch JAY Motorsports +7 laps
14 James Dayson ArmsUp Motorsports +16 laps
15 Parker Thompson JDC MotorSports +18 laps
16 Keyvan Andres Soori ArmsUp Motorsports +18 laps
17 Luke Gabin Team Pelfrey +18 laps