Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC DeMelo joins Fortec in Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

DeMelo joins Fortec in Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

by Gruz David
Photo: Florida Winter Tour

Photo: Florida Winter Tour

Canadian karting graduate Zachary Claman DeMelo confirmed he will spend his debut single-seater season in Formula Renault 2.0 NEC as a Fortec driver.

DeMelo’s karting career featured a number of successful seasons in Quebecois and Canadian championships. In his final year in karts, he won Florida Winter Tour in the TaG Senior category and took third in the Rotax Max Grand Finals in Senior class.

At the end of 2014, he entered the Formula Skip Barber Winter Series, where he took a pole position and won two out of four races.

Over the post-season he took part in a number of FIA F3 tests with Carlin and was recently at Monza in an FR2.0 car.

DeMelo is Fortec’s fifth driver for the forthcoming NEC season. He will race alongside fellow Canadian Luke Chudleigh, NEC race winner Callan O’Keeffe, Force India junior Jehan Daruvala and Formula Renault 1.6 graduate Ferdinand Habsburg.

2015 Formula Renault 2.0 NEC line-up so far
Team Drivers
Josef Kaufmann Racing Nikita Mazepin, Louis Deletraz, Kevin Jorg
Fortec Motorsport Jehan Daruvala, Ferdinand Habsburg, Luke Chudleigh, Callan O’Keeffe, Zachary Claman DeMelo
AVF Roy Geerts, Josef Zaruba, Henrique Chaves
Fragus BR Motorsport Robin Hansson
BM Racing Team Bartlomiej Mirecki
Prizma Racing Pontus Fredricsson