Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup De Vries wins at Catalunya as Rowland cuts Gasly’s lead

De Vries wins at Catalunya as Rowland cuts Gasly’s lead

by Ant Musker
Nyck de Vries

Photo: Renault Sport

Nyck de Vries claimed his second Eurocup victory of the season with a sublime drive from pole in race one at Catalunya, whilst Oliver Rowland lowered Pierre Gasly?s championship lead to eight points.

While de Vries held on to the lead off the line, Rowland managed to get away better than Gasly, taking over in second.

Despite passing the Frenchman, Rowland never troubled de Vries out in front. The Dutchman, thus, led every lap and finished comfortably ahead of the rest of the field.

Third place for Gasly keeps the destination of the championship in his hands, and a second-place finish in tomorrow’s race would be enough for him to take the title.

Esteban Ocon finished in fourth and was mathematically eliminated from title contention. Egor Orudzhev crossed the line in fifth, having passed sixth-placed Andrea Pizzitola, with Ignazio D?Agosto taking seventh.

Josef Kaufmann?s Oscar Tunjo was eighth, followed by Kevin Jorg who achieved his first top ten result of the campaign. Koiranen?s Victor Franzoni took tenth place as Jake Dennis retired from seventh with a gearbox issue during the last lap.

UPDATE: Esteban Ocon has received a post-race penalty of ten seconds added for forcing fellow Lotus junior Oscar Tunjo off-track. The penalty demotes the Frenchman to seventh from his original finishing position of fourth.

Meanwhile, Luca Ghiotto will receive a three-place grid penalty for tomorrow’s race.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 16 laps in 28:10.313
2 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport 5.873
3 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing 6.425
4 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 11.342
5 Andr?a Pizzitola ART Junior Team 12.313
6 Ignazio D’Agosto KTR 20.269
7 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team 10.304
8 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing 25.032
9 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport 27.425
10 Victor Franzoni Koiranen GP 28.228
11 Levin Amweg Jenzer Motorsport 30.193
12 Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport 36.701
13 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 37.133
14 Guilherme Silva Koiranen GP 37.928
15 Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing 38.627
16 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport 38.925
17 Benjamin Bailly RC Formula 40.131
18 Aurelien Panis Prema Powerteam 40.223
19 Mikko Pakari Fortec Motorsports 40.758
20 Gregor Ramsay Euronova Racing 41.227
21 Leo Roussel Manor MP Motorsport 43.390
22 John Filippi RC Formula 57.045
23 Jake Dennis Fortec Motorsports +1 lap
24 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +2 laps
25 Jack Aitken Manor MP Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
William Vermont ARTA Engineering +3 laps
Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam +3 laps
Simon Tirman ARTA Engineering +3 laps
Ed Jones Fortec Motorsports +8 laps
Alex Albon KTR +8 laps
Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing +8 laps
Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing +16 laps
Yu Kanamaru KTR +16 laps
Roman Beregech RC Formula +16 laps
DNS Alessio Picariello Interwetten.com Racing
DNS Kuba Dalewski Interwetten.com Racing