Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps De Vries wins again in red-flagged race two

De Vries wins again in red-flagged race two

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Koiranen GP’s Nyck de Vries took another victory in Formula Renault 2.0 Alps in the second race of the penultimate round of the season at Mugello.

De Vries, who sealed the 2014 drivers’ title yesterday, triumphed in a straightforward race that was suddenly red-flagged in the final minutes due to sudden heavy rain.

The Dutchman comfortably led the field off pole position and methodically increased his lead lap after lap, eventually pulling out more than four seconds on nearest rival Charles Leclerc.

The Monegasque driver was busy staying ahead of Matevos Isaakyan and Bruno Bonifacio, who were the first two drivers to go off into the gravel when the rain hit the track on lap 14.

With more cars following suit, the race was immediately red-flagged and there was no intention of resuming. The officials rolled the results back to lap 12.

As such, de Vries ended up with his eighth win of the campaign, while 2.0 rookies Leclerc and Isaakyan rounded out the podium.

Bonifacio took fourth ahead of Prema squadmate Dennis Olsen, while Egor Orudzhev led George Russell in sixth.

Pietro Fittipaldi, Anthoine Hubert and Dario Capitanio completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 12 laps in 21:27.530
2 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports +4.809
3 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +5.724
4 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +6.355
5 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +6.904
6 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +10.937
7 George Russell Koiranen GP +12.680
8 Pietro Fittipaldi MGR Motorsport +19.507
9 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +20.258
10 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing +21.550
11 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing +22.403
12 Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing +22.829
13 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +23.429
14 Stefan Riener Cram Motorsport +27.330
15 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +31.969
16 Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing +32.902
17 Hong Li Ye Koiranen GP +35.967
18 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +36.476
19 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +38.092
20 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam +38.444
21 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing +39.431
22 Thiago Vivacqua Fortec Motorsports +40.343
23 Alessio Rovera Cram Motorsport +40.772
24 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +40.985
25 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing +41.535
26 Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix +45.357
27 Andrea Baiguera Brixia Horse Power +46.190
28 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing +46.836
29 James Allen ARTA Engineering +47.347
30 Matteo Gonfiantini TS Corse +47.909
31 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +1:00.891
32 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing +1:04.987
33 Denis Korneev JD Motorsport +1 lap
Not classifed
Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +12 laps