Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6 De Pasquale triumphs on 1.6 debut at Zandvoort

De Pasquale triumphs on 1.6 debut at Zandvoort

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior

Photo: Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior

Lechner Racing’s Anton De Pasquale starred in the opening race of the 2014 Formula Renault 1.6 NEC season at Zandvoort, converting his pole position into a rookie win.

The Australian did not have it easy, though, as he was beaten off the line by fellow front row starter Larry ten Voorde and was boxed in behind the Dutchman over the opening lap.

While Janneau Esmeijer, who started from fifth, managed to close in on the leading duo, De Pasquale wrestled the lead back from ten Voorde and began to pull away into the distance.

His victory would not be under threat for the remainder of the race, as he managed to establish a three-second gap over his rivals at the checkered flag.

In second, Ten Voorde was kept busy by fellow 2013 race winner Esmeijer, who came close to overtaking the Pirosport racer on several occasions, but would eventually have to settle for third.

De Pasquale’s teammate Florian Janits kept Max Defourny at bay to finish fourth, while Oliver Soderstrom found a way past another Lechner racer Ferdinand Habsburg to take sixth.

Estonian Ralf Aron was eighth, ahead of Marcel Lenerz, who started last after having missed qualifying, and Boris Kolff.

French F4 graduate Neal Van Vaerenbergh was running in P7 when he went off into the barriers on lap four, becoming the race’s only retirement.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Anton De Pasquale Lechner Racing School 12 laps in 21:34.702
2 Larry ten Voorde Pirosport +3.063
3 Janneau Esmeijer Provily Racing +3.805
4 Florian Janits Lechner Racing School +6.912
5 Max Defourny Provily Racing +9.011
6 Oliver Soderstrom Scuderia Nordica +10.772
7 Ferdinand Habsburg Lechner Racing School +12.894
8 Ralf Aron Scuderia Nordica +13.135
9 Marcel Lenerz Stuart Racing Team +13.313
10 Boris Kolff Provily Racing +16.377
11 Pontus Fredericsson Trackstar Racing +19.347
12 Simon Mirguet Provily Racing +26.561
13 Cedric Piro Pirosport +26.609
14 Paul Sieljes Stuart Racing Team +37.214
Not classified
Neal Van Vaerenbergh Stuart Racing Team +9 laps