Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6FR1.6 NEC De Pasquale outclasses opposition in second Zandvoort race

De Pasquale outclasses opposition in second Zandvoort race

by Gruz David
Photo: Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior

Photo: Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior

Having won the first race earlier today, Australian Anton De Pasquale went on to dominate the second one to ensure a sizeable points lead after the opening round of the 2014 FR1.6 NEC season.

Starting from pole, the 18-year-old kept his first off the line and immediately established a solid on-track adanage. He was reliably faster than his opponents and eventually managed to build a 8.4s gap at the checkered flag.

Karting graduate Ferdinand Habsburg completed a Lechner Racing one-two after passing Larry ten Voorde on the second lap. The Pirosport racer stayed close behind the Austrian, but couldn’t pull off a move, rounding out the top three.

Having to defend from Ralf Aron and Oliver Soderstrom in the closing stages of the race, Janneau Esmeijer narrowly held on to fourth. The aforementioned Aron settled for fifth ahead of his teammate Soderstrom and Boris Kolff.

It was a difficult race for Lechner’s third man Florian Janits, who lost six positions during the first two laps and had to settle for eighth despite starting from second row. The top ten was completed by Belgian Max Defourny and Swede Pontus Fredricsson.

Race results
Pos. Name Team Time/Gap
1 Anton De Pasquale Lechner Racing School 12 laps in 21:29.668
2 Ferdinand Habsburg Lechner Racing School +8.470
3 Larry ten Voorde Pirosport +9.079
4 Janneau Esmeijer Provily Racing +16.578
5 Ralf Aron Scuderia Nordica +16.766
6 Oliver Soderstrom Scuderia Nordica +17.240
7 Boris Kolff Provily Racing +17.621
8 Florian Janits Lechner Racing School +17.985
9 Max Defourny Provily Racing +18.802
10 Pontus Fredricsson Trackstar +24.249
11 Marcel Lenerz Stuart Racing Team +29.228
12 Neal van Vaerenbergh Stuart Racing Team +32.245
13 Simon Mirguet Provily Racing +32.288
14 Paul Sieljes Stuart Racing Team +34.835
15 Cedric Piro Pirosport +35.182