Home Formula 3GB3 Cook wins third BRDC F4 Winter race at Snetterton

Cook wins third BRDC F4 Winter race at Snetterton

by Peter Allen

Jake Cook claimed victory in the third race of the BRDC F4 Winter Championship at Snetterton after starting on pole position.

Cook came out on top in an exciting qualifying battle on an improving track, taking top spot away from Sennan Fielding after the chequered flag.

The Hillspeed driver didn’t get a good start though, with Saturday double race winner Matty Graham flying into the lead from third on the grid ahead of Fielding.

Contact between the two leaders on the first lap however sent Graham down the order, with Fielding briefly taking the lead before Cook passed him at the end of the lap. He took the chequered flag with a lead of 7.4 seconds.

“My grid slot was still pretty wet so I had to be careful and three drivers passed me on the way to turn one,” said Cook. “I closed on them really quickly and had a good opening lap. When the first two collided, that got me past Graham and then I passed Sennan around the outside of Coram. The car was great from lap one, the tyres didn’t go off much and it was really good all the way through.”

Falco Wauer passed Fielding for second on lap two, only to lose it with a mistake on the following lap. Two laps later though he was able to decisively claim second.

Matteo Ferrer came through to join fellow Protyre Formula Renault regular Cook on the podium with a pass on Fielding on lap six.

Fielding kept Pietro Fittipaldi at bay to finish in fourth, with Graham recovering to take sixth from Will Palmer on the last lap. Dimitris Papanastasiou and Fredrik Johansen completed the order.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jake Cook Hillspeed 10 laps in 20:43.788
2 Falco Wauer Enigma Motorsport +7.478
3 Matteo Ferrer MGR Motorsport +11.696
4 Sennan Fielding HHC Motorsport +15.899
5 Pietro Fittipaldi MGR Motorsport +16.114
6 Matthew Graham Douglas Motorsport +18.763
7 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport +24.523
8 Dimitris Papanastasiou Hillspeed +35.455
9 Fredrik Johansen Chris Dittmann Racing +40.097