Home Z - Archive seriesGerman F3 Bryant-Meisner takes second win of the season in race two at Spa

Bryant-Meisner takes second win of the season in race two at Spa

by Stephen Goddard

Photo: formel3.de

Swede John Bryant-Meisner gambled with his tyre choice to take a dominant reverse grid victory at Spa-Francorchamps this afternoon.

With most of the field electing to start on wet tyres, with the exception of Bryant-Meisner and Maximillian Hackl, it would be interesting to see which would tactic pay off. Lotus drivers Artem Markelov and Emil Bernstorff immediately assumed the lead in the tricky conditions.

As the track began to dry the Performance Racing man made his move assuming the lead from the Russian and began to stretch a healthy advantage, 25.788 seconds at the chequered flag.

Markelov came home third from team-mate and this morning?s race winner Marvin Kirchhofer. Gustavo Menezes put in another strong performance to come in fourth just ahead of Bernstorff. The top ten was rounded out by Thomas Jager in sixth, Nabil Jeffri in seventh, Tomasz Krzeminski in eighth, with Trophy class winner Freddy Killensberger coming home in ninth just ahead of rival Hubertus-Carlos Vier.

Yannick Mettler was the only retirement after the Swiss driver tangled with Jeffri on lap three.

The ATS Formel 3 Cup has one more race for the weekend starting at 14:45 (CEST) tomorrow afternoon, with Marvin Kirchhofer one pole once again.

Race results
Pos ?Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 John Bryant-Meisner Performance Racing 9 laps in 22:11.589
2 Artem Markelov Lotus +25.788
3 Marvin Kirchhofer Lotus +31.707
4 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing +32.934
5 Emil Bernstorff Lotus +33.521
6 Thomas Jager Performance Racing +34.752
7 Nabil Jeffri Eurointernational +42.916
8 Tomasz Krzeminski ADM Motorsport +1:02.613
9 Freddy Killensberger GU-Racing +1:04.453
10 Hubertus-Carlos Vier TTC Motorsport +1:07.595
11 Matteo Cairoli ADM Motorsport +1:27.900
12 Jordi Weckx Van Amersfoort Racing +1:30.060
13 Sheban Siddiqi Lotus +2:01.325
14 Maximilian Hackl Franz Woss Racing +2:02.377
15 S.Balthasar GU-Racing +2:14.401
16 Thomas Warken CR Racing Team +2:18.209
17 Christian Zeller CR Racing Team +2:31.693
18 Andreas Germann CR Racing Team +1 Lap
Not classified
Yannick Mettler Performance Racing 3 laps