Home News Ben Barnicoat takes Autumn Cup title with race three win

Ben Barnicoat takes Autumn Cup title with race three win

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

RSF-backed Ben Barnicoat secured the title of the Protyre Formula Renault Autumn Cup – his debut single-seater event – as he took the win in the third and final race of the weekend.

The youngster started the race from pole and led every lap to take a convincing victory, as he crossed the line two and a half seconds ahead of the nearest rival.

Pietro Fittipaldi shared the front row with the Briton and maintained second over the majority of the race. However, during the final lap, he was overtaken by a charging Martin Kodric, who completed a Fortec 1-2 and scored his first podium in single-seaters.

Fittipaldi settled for third, while Hong Wei Cao finished in fourth place. Alex Gill took fifth after a disastrous opening lap, with Fortec’s Yosuke Yamazaki rounding out the runners.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsport 15 laps in 20:01.701
2 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsport +2.430
3 Pietro Fittipaldi Jamun Racing Services +3.215
4 Hong Wei Cao Fortec Motorsport +4.126
5 Alex Gill MGR Motorsport +5.976
6 Yosuke Yamazaki Fortec Motorsport +20.198