Home Formula 3GB3 Akhil Rabindra makes Lanan switch in BRDC F4

Akhil Rabindra makes Lanan switch in BRDC F4

by Peter Allen
Akhil Rabindra

Photo: BRDC F4

Successful BRDC Formula 4 outfit Lanan Racing has made Indian driver Akhil Rabindra its first signing for the 2016 season.

Rabindra competed in the series last year for Douglas Motorsport, finishing 13th in the standings with a best race result of seventh.

He had previously competed in the JK Racing Asia and Formula Masters China series, and been part of the FIA Institute’s Young Driver Excellence Academy in 2014.

“We saw how Akhil improved as last year progressed, so it’s great to have signed him for this season,” said team boss Graham Johnson, who ran Jake Hughes and George Russell to their respective BRDC F4 titles in 2013 and ’14.

“His record is strong and we are looking forward to working with him to push him forward and on to race wins.”

Rabindra, 19, added: “Lanan Racing has been the most successful team in Formula 4 so I am really happy to be joining them.

“Last year gave me the experience of racing in the UK that I needed and I am looking forward to fighting at the front this year.”

He is the eighth driver to be revealed for the 2016 BRDC F4 season, which will feature the new Tatuus-Cosworth car.

BRDC F4 2016 line-up so far
Team Drivers
Carlin Lando Norris, Ameya Vaidyanathan
Double R Racing Matheus Leist, Enzo Bortoleto, Aleksanteri Huovinen
HHC Motorsport Sisa Ngebulana
Sean Walkinshaw Racing Eugene Denyssen
Lanan Racing Akhil Rabindra